IMG_2098

Can you tell what my favorite color is? 😉

When did I become one of those people who has a bunch of tech toys?

I got a car my senior year, and with it a cell phone to prevent me from becoming too terribly lost, and ending up driving to Australia. (I have an impressively warped sense of direction, and go wrong far more than you’d expect from random chance.)

Like a lot of college students, I added a laptop for schoolwork. Having to use a lab computer is not fun.

And then I just had to have a Kindle DX, for all the eBooks out there. Then I upgraded to a Kindle Touch several years later.

Recently I got a tablet (because it was free, and, you know… shiny.) Right now I don’t use it much, but I’ve decided that I’ll give it a shot as a laptop substitute while I’m traveling. I was contemplating this stack of electronics, and I don’t quite know how it happened.

But I can read an eBook on all of them!

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

2 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    I know the feeling. When one of my daughter’s many boyfriends complained (years ago) that there was no computer in our house, I wondered why a person would even need one. Then someone gave me an old…and I mean OLD…computer when they upgraded. It was so old, it had a dot matrix printer, and was almost useless online. Slow beyond belief. On a dial-up connection, which meant you could go make a sandwich and a cup of tea before it connected to the internet. But that was all it took. I was hooked! 24-hour a day access to the biggest library in the world? Wooohoooooooo. And I’ve never looked back. I would be bereft without my Iphone, and I could not LIVE without my computer. My GPS keeps me on track wherever I go, and Mark’s laptop keeps him from messing with MY touchscreen. Heaven help us if the power grid ever goes (during the Zombie Apocalypse, I mean). We’d all die of tech deprivation, before they even got around to eating our brains.

What are your thoughts?

