Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesday3

January 14: Top Ten 2014 Debuts I’m Excited For

This is debut authors, as in new writers, right? That’s what I’m going for, so here’s some books coming out in 2014 that I think look interesting.

cruel beauty

1. Cruel Beauty; Rosamund Hodge. I love fairy tale retellings, and this one sounds dark and intriguing.

dorothy must die

2. Dorothy Must Die; Danielle Paige. About Dorothy gone power-hungry and mad and evil, and she must die–after her allies are destroyed, of course.

57 lives

3. The Fifty-Seven Lives of Alex Wayfare; M.G. Buehrlen. Reliving past lives sounds complicated, but fun to read about.

gilded

4. Gilded; Christina L. Farley. A god out to steal your soul, because he’s been taking your families eldest daughter’ soul each generation? Yikes. I have to see how she gets out of this.

midnight thief

5. Midnight Thief; Livia Blackburne. Assassins and intrigue, thieves and knights, and a strong female protagonist. Sounds fun.

side effects

6. Side Effects May Vary; Julie Murphy. What do you do when you finish your bucket list and then find out you’re not going to die?

six feet over it

7. Six Feet Over It; Jennifer Longo. Dark comedy speaks to me. A girl working at her family cemetery? Why not?

something real

8. Something Real; Heather Demetrios. About a teenager trying to escape the weirdness of growing up on reality TV and have a real life.

stolen songbird

9. Stolen Songbird; Danielle L. Jensen. A kidnapped troll bride sounds a little like an old fairy tale, but the rest–a rebellion, half-trolls, and the heroine sound like something new and interesting.

what the moon said

10. What the Moon Said; Gayle Rosengren. Magic and hope in the face of superstition and fatalism sounds like a good story to me.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

14 responses »

  1. Elin says:

    Love your list, some of these are also on my list 🙂

  2. I love how alike our lists are! Great minds think alike!
    I’m so excited for Cruel Beauty and Dorothy Must Die too, I LOVE fairy tale retelling’s!

  3. Franny says:

    Something Real was off my radar, for some reason. It sounds like a fun read!

  4. Marcia says:

    They all sound interesting, Caitlin. I’ll be waiting to see what you think of them.

  5. Great list! I’m also really excited to read SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY.

  6. MidnightPageTurners says:

    Oh I really want to read Cruel Beauty too! There’s been a few negative reviews of the arcs but I still want to give it a go, I’ve just started the Lunar Chronicles Series and I’ve become a little in love with fairy tale retellings

    • caitlinstern says:

      Cinder and Scarlet are awesome! Not everyone likes retellings, though, so perhaps the negative reviews are because of that?

      I hope it’s good, I’ll be quite disappointed if I got so excited for nothing. *fingers crossed*

  7. Great list, I’ve got a few of these on my list too! Side Effects May Vary looks so good, I can’t wait for that one. There are so many great books coming out in 2014, I don’t know how I’ll find the time to read them all. I hope you manage to read all of these 🙂 My TTT.

What are your thoughts?

