Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten square

February 4: Top Ten Books That Will Make You Cry

(This is a hard one, because everyone’s different. These books, the first time I read them, either gave me a lump in my throat and made me blink rapidly, or actually wipe away tears so I could keep reading. Your experience may vary.)

book thief

The Book Thief; Markus Zusak. No book about the Holocaust is going to be upbeat and cheerful, but there’s one particular loss in this one that really gets to me.

charlotte web

Charlotte’s Web; E.B. White. A talking pig, a spider that writes, and a sweet friendship.

verity

Code Name Verity; Elizabeth Wein. When you’ve been captured as a spy, you know things are going to end badly. But can you be brave anyway?

The Fault in Our Stars

The Fault in Our Stars; John Green. I expect to see this love story between two teens with cancer on a lot of lists. Despite it’s nature as a tear-jerker, I encourage people to read it.

flowers algernon

Flowers for Algernon; Daniel Keyes. What’s the value of intelligence? This books lets you know the bad thing is coming, but you’re helpless to stop it.

night

Night; Elie Wiesel. When I read this in high school, I remember getting very choked up. I haven’t read it again since.

wallflower

The Perks of Being a Wallflower; Stephen Chbosky. Charlie is so optimistic, even in the face of some terrible events, which somehow makes them sadder.

Ship who searched

The Ship Who Searched; Anne McCaffrey. There’s one scene in this book that gets me every time. Even though I know it gets better.

mockingbird

To Kill a Mockingbird; Harper Lee. This book makes me wish the world was fair.

tuesdays

Tuesdays with Morrie; Mitch Albom. Some books clearly intend to make you cry. This book about a dying man is one of them.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

6 responses »

  1. Oh completely forgot about Charlotte’s Web, that ending! Great list!

    • caitlinstern says:

      On TTT, I always see a book or two on someone’s list that makes me think ‘why did I not use that book?’

      And yes, that ending was one of those sad/happy moments. *tear*

  2. Amy Sachs says:

    I forgot about Charlottes Web! That made me cry even when I was little 😦

  3. I cried so hard with Morrie. I’ve never cried so much over a book like I did for that one. It was so great, though. One of my favorites.

What are your thoughts?

