LC deer

Most of the deer did not want to hold still for a picture.

Points

Walking on a concrete path

at dusk

just off a street of houses

passed by joggers and whirring bicycles

I heard a rustle in the leaves

and glanced over

expecting a bird or a squirrel or nothing

because some creatures hide too well

Five white tail deer

stared back at me

from a few yards away

hides blending into the leaves and trees

and return to grazing

unconcerned about me entirely

unless I step too close

and then they fly their white flags

and race away

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

