Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesday2

February 11: Top Ten Books That Will Make You Swoon

What makes you swoon in a book, really? I suppose a really sweet relationship, where you’re glad the characters get together. Definitely romance, right?

1Q84

11Q84; Haruki Murakami. When you’re making improbable promises to your love, did you swear to cross alternate realities for them? Someone make that a song!

abundance of katherines

2An Abundance of Katherines; John Green. A story about a boy who has only dated Katherines, and they’ve all broken his heart. What happens when he decides to change his life up a little?

anna french kiss

3Anna and the French Kiss; Stephanie Perkins. A well handled ‘he’s dating my friend’ romance, which is pretty rare.

cry wolf

4Cry Wolf; Patricia Briggs. Charles and Anna have so many issues it’s not funny, but they work so well together.

fire

5Fire; Kristin Cashore. You could argue whether the couple in Graceling is cuter than Fire and Brigan, but I quite admire  their ability to make their individual weirdness work.

flat out love

6Flat Out Love; Jessica Park. A new college student who ends up tossed into the complicated life of a whole family. The way she bonds with the younger kids is really sweet.

love afternoon

7. Love in the Afternoon; Lisa Kleypas. I like the whole Hathaway family this series is based on, but shy, animal rescuing, pants-wearing Beatrix is my favorite.

pride and prejudice

8Pride & Prejudice; Jane Austen. Because Darcy and Elizabeth are perfect for each other, even if it takes them a while to realize it.

saints astray2

9. Saint’s Astray; Jacqueline Carey. Book 2, so I can’t say too much about the couple without giving things away from book 1. They’re rebels, and so adorable together.

Shadowland

10. Shadowland; Meg Cabot. When I read these books, and I finally got to the last one, I was impressed that the romance actually worked.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

8 responses »

  1. lynnsbooks says:

    I really enjoyed Graceling and Fire – for some reason I’ve had Bitter Blue sat on my shelves for ages and not picked it up – no logical reason at all why not!
    Lynn 😀

  2. I think every list I’ve looked at has had a Stephanie Perkins book! Great list!

  3. Anne says:

    I haven’t read anything outside of the first two Kushiel’s trilogies by Jacqueline Carey. I think I should fix that! Great list!

    • caitlinstern says:

      She’s written a lot more books than that–they’re certainly not for everyone, but I think the Saint’s Astray series is a little less dark, and more accessible.

      And, you know, it has werewolves.

  4. I loved Meg Cabot’s Mediator series (I’m not sure if that’s the name of the series, but it was amazing!)

What are your thoughts?

