Image from WikiMedia by Vince pahkala.

Image from WikiMedia by Vince pahkala.

Crossing

Train horn shatters the ice

cold night

light stabbing the dark

brakes screeching

Huddle in the lee

of this steel river winding

across streets

Thunderous noise

rippling motion

dancing lights

Wait on the cold dark asphalt shore

for stillness

and the safety to pass

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

5 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    Like this very much, Caitlin! Shared it on Twitter, too. I still hope you will put together a poetry book. Your work is such fun, and…why not? Sorry I’ve been absent lately, but we’re back in town now, and I’m catching up. Will email you later.

    • caitlinstern says:

      Hope you had a good time! 🙂

      Yes, yes, I know… I promised I’d give it a shot. I keep adding new projects to the pile of stuff to do, and I haven’t gotten back to it. Yet.

  2. Marcia says:

    Reblogged this on Bookin' It and commented:
    Love Caitlin’s poetry! Hope you enjoy this one, too.

  3. MidnightPageTurners says:

    Love this! I adore free verse, somehow I find rhyme usually a lot more stilted when I write it but with free verse its so much easier to make the poem words flow

    • caitlinstern says:

      Rhyme can be fun to play with, but I find it restrictive most times. That’s what I love about free verse–you can choose the perfect word for the word itself, not whether it sounds like another, and break your lines to emphasize whatever you like.

      Even though I have to explain to my grandparents why it’s still a poem. 😉

What are your thoughts?

