Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten sunset

March 4: Top Ten Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

I’m not 100% sure how you define this one. I’m going for authors I have seen mentioned on blogs and in bookstores, but still haven’t read anything by them.

Angels demons

1. Brown, Dan. Robert Langdon series. I have seen these books everywhere, but they don’t particularly appeal. Sometimes I’m a little curious, just from how often I see something by him. Still, it’s a bit conspiracy-theory for me.

red rising

2. Brown, Pierce. Red Rising Trilogy. So, he’s only published book one, but it seems to be doing really well, and growing in popularity. A story a bit like The Time Machine, with Helldivers working on Mars to make the planet terraformed–and then they discover that their sacrifice is a lie. I’m mostly waiting–to work through a backlog, and see how book 2 does.

selection

3. Cass,Kiera. The Selection. Another beautiful set of covers, with ball gowns that would pretty much guarantee you’d drown if you fell into a pool. A competition for a prince’s bride, and an inevitable love triangle. Another book with mixed reviews, plus I’m getting a little tired of the love triangles being the main focus of a book.

just one day

4. Forman, Gayle. Just One Day series. These look like very sweet books, and I’ve seen people rave about them. Except… is this book sad, people? I think it might be too sad. I’m not very brave about that.

fifty shades

5. James, E.L. Fifty Shades series. If you don’t know what this book is about, I’m amazed. The negatives make me really leery of this book, though, no matter how many good reviews I see.

legend

6. Lu, Marie. Legend series. A city divided into rich and poor, and two people from each side brought together over a murder. Sounds interesting to me, I just haven’t added it to my ever-growing list of books. Yet.

shatter me

7. Mafi, Tahereh. Shatter Me series. These covers, with stuff growing out of an eye is pretty when you focus on the details, but the concept gives me the creeps. The concept sounds interesting–a teenage girl with a fatal touch, but enough people have died that now they want so use her as a weapon. But the reviews… enough of them are harsh about the writing to make me waffle.

delirium

8. Oliver, Lauren. Delirium series. A world when love is a sickness, and there’s a cure–and the main character is waiting to receive it. There’s some very good ratings on this, but also some complaints about prose so purple it glows in the dark. I can’t decide.

rosie project

9. Simsion, Graeme. The Rosie Project. I have seen this book all over the place, and it seems to be either really smart, or not smart enough. It’s about math, genetics, research, and love and family–which usually sounds good, but not if it isn’t well written.

goldfinch

10. Tart, Donna. I’ve seen The Goldfinch especially, which made a bunch of lists, but her other books have a ton of ratings, too. The Goldfinch is about an orphan struggling to stay out of the system, living on the streets and with friends. It’s 771 pages, so it’s quite a time commitment if it’s not my cup of tea.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

15 responses »

  1. Man, so many of these are on my list as well. I own the whole Shatter Me trilogy and can’t bring myself to start it. Ugh. I read the first Prodigy book and didn’t LOVE it, but I hear it’s the rare trilogy that gets better as it goes, so I’d like to get back to it. And I really want to read Goldfinch, but feel like I need to be in the perfect mood for it.

  2. Harliqueen says:

    I haven’t read any of these before either 😀

    • caitlinstern says:

      This list was pretty easy for once–what books have I seen on a million blogs and bookstore shelves, but never read?

      Sometimes it seems like everyone else has, though–glad I have some company. 🙂

  3. Anne says:

    I had Dan Brown on my list too, although it is kind of a cheat. I read 20 pages and quit. I have read 50 Shades as part of a book club. You are better off skipping it. 🙂

  4. YA Reading YA says:

    Lots of these on my list, too! Though I do really like Marie Lu’s series. Tahereh Mafi’s writing is pretty polarizing. And Lauren Oliver is great, in my opinion! I think her standalone contemporaries are much better than the Delirium series, though.

    • caitlinstern says:

      Some of these do look amazing. And I see them so often, I may try a few of them. But… I already have hundreds of books on my TBR list. You have to be practical eventually, right?

      I’ll check out some of Oliver’s standalones, thanks. Maybe one will speak to me.

  5. thestarryowl says:

    I’ve only read Dan Brown and E.L. James on this list! I do enjoy Dan Brown’s books, though I feel they’re a bit predictable/similar after you’ve read one. They’re addictive reads though.

    I’m quite ashamed that I was curious enough to pick up Fifty Shades now. I think it’s the fact that I view the relationship in it as an abusive one that bothers me more than the way it’s written. I really disliked Christian.

    • caitlinstern says:

      Predictable can be nice. And I know what you mean about addictive–some books are popcorn, each one tastes the same, but they aren’t filling so you keep eating. 🙂

      I read several reviews on 50 Shades that all said: “this is an abusive relationship, please stop portraying our culture like this.” So maybe they’re right, and the author didn’t research and simply wrote whatever.

  6. Dan Brown is another author I’ve yet to read. I’ve heard amazing reviews about his books, though!

    The Selection was, surprisingly, really great! I haven’t read the rest of the series yet. I remember reading it in about a day and was pleasantly surprised that it was so good. I think I gave it a four star rating… Anyway. If I remember correctly, the love triangle didn’t bother me as much in this book for some reason.

    Legend was a good read, and Prodigy was even better! I still have to read Champion, the last book in the trilogy, but I lent my copy to a friend who completed it and said it was awesome. 😀

    Delirium was a book I started, then put down, then restarted and loved. I was one of the ones who LOVED her writing style, heheh! I haven’t read the rest of this series, though, on account of having trouble getting into Pandemonium.

    Anyway, if you ever decide to read any of these authors’ books, I really hope you enjoy them!

    • caitlinstern says:

      I always read a few positive and a few negative reviews on a book, keeping a look out for complaints about my pet peeves.

      If a book has those complaints, it’s moved into the ‘maybe’ pile. And since the ‘yes, please!’ pile is enormous, it’s not too likely I’ll get to these books.

      But anything’s possible. 😉

  7. I haven’t read the Shatter Me series yet either, but do want to try it out. Sometimes a book has bad reviews but its not that it’s bad but just that its not the right book for those people. I don’t know, it could be bad, but I kinda want to give it a chance, mostly because I love the covers!
    I also haven’t read 50 shades of Grey either and don’t plan on reading it anytime soon. I hate it when a book is only popular because its popular. I hate book hypes!

    • caitlinstern says:

      Oh, yes. I completely agree. I have read many excellent books that just weren’t for me. And the covers are gorgeous.

      Some books are the Kardashians of the publishing world, and best ignored. 😉

What are your thoughts?

