Image from WikiMedia by Wolfgang Glock.

Image from WikiMedia by Wolfgang Glock.

After the Curtain Falls

What would have happened

to Juliet and Romeo

if they’d planned a little better

and instead of a friar too slow

they’d perhaps sent a letter?

Where would the newlyweds go?

*                       *                       *

What would have happened

to Romeo and Juliet

those tragic lovers whose plans

went awry so badly and yet–

If they’d managed to publish banns

they might wish they’d never met.

*                       *                       *

What would have happened

to the star-crossed pair

years or a decade down the line?

Would he still find her the most fair

or would another strike her as fine?

Their love could last—or end in despair.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

6 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    I like this. Makes me wonder if their fate was tragedy, no matter which direction they took. But misery later in life is never quite so heartbreaking as it is during youth. Shakespeare got it right, I suppose. 🙂 Great job, Caitlin. But you know I love all your poetry.

  2. Really interesting poem, when I read Romeo and Juliet I just pictured their love dying if they did manage to run away, I’ll never understand how they fell in love with each other in such a short amount of time to the point that they wouldn’t care about leaving their families for good…
    Love the rhyme in this by the way!

What are your thoughts?

