Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten square

March 18: Top Ten Books On My Spring 2014 TBR List (to be read list)

The first day of Spring is March 20th, and ends mid June, so these are books I hope to read in that time period. Also, I’m ready for Spring to come. The cold does not work for me.

cibola burn

1Cibola Burn; James S.A. Corey. Book 4 of a science fiction series, mostly about this vast alien intelligence that can convert anything organic, and the consequences of its purpose–and the human reaction to it. A thought-provoking series that leaves me guessing.

dreams gods monsters

2Dreams of Gods & Monsters; Lanini Taylor. Book 3 of an angel and demon war–only the angels aren’t really the good guys. Each book hooks me and leaves me desperately wanting to know what happens next. I want a happy ending, dang it!

girl wind up heart

3. The Girl with the Wind-up Heart; Kady Cross. Book 4 of a steampunk series with some scientific experiments gone awry–and plenty of clockwork. The female characters have personality and a spine, which is always a bonus.

half off ragnarok

4. Half-Off Ragnarok; Seanan McGuire. Book 3 of a series about cryptids–the creatures that reside in myth, but are actually real and in hiding. Sometimes the two worlds clash, though–and there’s a family that tries to smooth out those moments.

immortal crown

5. The Immortal Crown; Richelle Mead. Book 2 of a mix of technology and the gods, with some interesting religions–and an attempt to get rid of religion, which the gods aren’t too fond of. A fascinating world I want to see some more of.

6. The Long Mars; Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter. Book 3 of a series about alternate Earths, all layered on each other–settlers ‘step’ out to these worlds, but there are people who’ve been there before–all sorts of natural ‘steppers.’

ruins2

7. Ruins; Dan Wells. Book 3 about Partials, engineered beings who aren’t considered human. Humanity is dying out from a plague, and the Partials could possibly save them–if they and the humans don’t kill each other first.

saga 3

8.Saga, Volume 3; Brian K Vaughan. A beautifully drawn graphic novel, an alien Romeo and Juliet with some astounding complications. The alien species are interesting, too–someone put a lot of imagination into them.

side effects

9Side Effects May Vary; Julie Murphy. About a girl dying of cancer who finds out she isn’t dying after all–after she’s done some things she can’t take back. It sounds quirky and funny, and I’m looking forward to it.

serpent of venice

10Serpent of Venice; Christopher Moore. A sequel to Fool, a story based loosely on Shakespeare. Not for people that dislike profanity, but very funny as anything by Moore is.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

10 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    One of these days, I need to join in this. Maybe as soon as we finish the edit of Swamp Ghosts. As always, enjoyed looking over your list. The only thing I recognized was Half-off Ragnarok, which is definitely on my TBR list, too. Making notes of several others. So, Richelle Mead? I absolutely loved the YA Vampire Academy series. It worked for me on every level. I expected to enjoy the Succubus series, too, but really did not. The writing just didn’t work for me. I’m willing to give her another go, though, just because she created Dimitri Belikov, a character I adored. Should I give the above series a try?

    The Kady Cross series sounds right up my alley. (Did we talk about Alloy of Law by Brandon Sanderson…LOVED that book.)

    Anyway, I digress. I’m making some notes from this list. Thanks for your thoughts on these. Great descriptions, btw.

    • caitlinstern says:

      Definitely check out the steampunk books by Cross. (Yes you did, it’s on my TBR list.)

      The Mead… it depends–it’s military sci fi, heavy on politics, and the world-building is a little slow, which isn’t everyone’s cup of tea. You might want to read some reviews first, to help you get a feel for whether it’s your kind of book or not.

      • Marcia says:

        If by politics, you mean anything even remotely connected to REAL political issues, or thinly disguised fictional ones, I won’t read it. I read to get away from that, and have stopped series mid-stream due to werewolves suddenly expounding on real-life political figures, for instance. I do like internal politics in supernatural societal groups, or connected to the building of the fictional world at times, but that’s it. I found Mead’s writing in Succubus to be far less mature than her writing in her YA Vampire Academy series, so I have shied away from anything else by her. But if the politics thing doesn’t make me unhappy, I could be talked into giving her another try. However, I also did not like her sequel to Vampire Academy. For one reason, because the characters that were carried forth into it were ones I didn’t like in the first one, and I didn’t care about what was happening to them. So I guess it’s possible that for me, her one series might be all I need to read. Will check reviews on it though, as you suggest.

  2. So many great series continuing this Spring! I particularly need to check out that Kady Cross series – I haven’t heard of it before!

    • caitlinstern says:

      Steampunk speaks to me–it’s a little absurd, a little romantic, and it nearly always has a strong female character rejecting tradition. Hope you like it. 🙂

      • Totally agree. Have we already discussed the Parasol Protectorate series? Love that one.

        • caitlinstern says:

          I adore Alexia–and can relate to her desire to occasionally smack someone who’s being rude. 😉

          • Marcia says:

            Hope it’s okay to jump in on this one. I absolutely loved the first books, especially Alexia and Lord Akeldama. The last book was a downer to me, though. I found the whole thing a bit depressing, and it left so much potential on the floor. I wanted more of the weres in London, for one thing, and I hated the way it just dribbled off. So I couldn’t rate that one as high as the others, and ended up not reviewing it at all. And I found I had no interested in the spin-off, either, which is not uncommon for me. There have been some that worked, like Rachel Caine’s Outcast Season, spinoff from her Weather Warden series, but most of the time, I’m never as happy with a spinoff. But I loved all of the other Parasol books, and am really glad I read them, thanks to your recommendation, Caitlin. 🙂

  3. Side Effects May Vary sounds hilarious. Hopefully I can pick this one up at the library the next time I make a visit!

What are your thoughts?

