Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesday2

March 25: Top Ten Things On My Bookish Bucket List (could be blogging related, book related etc. — meeting authors, reading x many books per year, finishing a daunting book, etc.)

Read:

great expectations

1. Great Expectations; Charles Dickens. I am nearly positive I missed this books despite the many English classes I’ve taken. Only one way to find out.

jane austen

2. Jane Austen’s complete works. I’ve read two in school, attempted a binge-read of all of them that ended in the plots blurring together. Now I’m determined to spread them out, and try again–so far, I’ve gotten through one: Sense & Sensibility.

war and peace

3. War & Peace; Leo Tolstoy. I’m not going to commit to finishing this one, because Russian literature and I are not the best of friends. But I’d like to try at least a couple dozen pages.

Book Signings:

magic rises

4. Ilona Andrews. I love so many of their books–and would have plenty of options to bring something to sign.

Written in Red

5. Anne Bishop. I see no evidence that she has done a tour recently, and I have two of her books on Kindle because I required instant gratification. But I’d buy them again to get her to sign them.

The Fault in Our Stars

6. John Green. Not only are his books amazing, but he’s also quite interesting in a variety of vlogs I’ve seen him on. It’d be cool to see him in person.

Let's Pretend

7. Jenny Lawson. She’s working on a second book, and since it was by sheer coincidence that I saw her at a book signing for her first one–a friend posted a link on Facebook that day, and when I read her blog I decided I *must* go–I hope to catch her again.

Other:

8. Read often, but not too often. I don’t set a goal, really, for how many books I read a year. At least not a number–but I do have a goal, anyway. To read as often as I can, without taking away from other things in my life I enjoy. Sometimes that last part is hard. Who needs sleep?

9. Read more non-fiction. I’ve found some pretty interesting stuff in that genre, but I tend to choose nearly anything else. I have to work on giving it a better chance.

10. Develop a little more self-control about my TBR lists. This is definitely going to be a life-long goal, but one I should definitely work on.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

2 responses »

  1. lynnsbooks says:

    The TBR lists are definitely the major challenge. The main problem for me is I just can’t stop collecting new books. Given how many books I read as an average I already have more than enough stacked around the house to last me for at least 12 months – but do I stop buying or loaning? No. It’s some sort of strange obsession where even if I know I’m probably not going to read a book I still want it!
    Lynn 😀

    • caitlinstern says:

      I completely understand. Between free ebooks, library books, and used book sales I will never ever catch up.

      On the plus side–we’ll also never run out of books! 😉

What are your thoughts?

