20140325_170339

Blue

A tiny spot of blue

fringed with green

awash in a concrete river

clinging to a pocket of soil

tucked in a curve

dwarfed by the metal monsters

that roll on black tires

and send leaves and petals rippling

in a wash of exhaust fumes

but still

color in the gray scale world

of asphalt and concrete

blooming

and nothing else matters

 

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

5 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    Reblogged this on Bookin' It and commented:
    What a lovely poem my friend & editor, Caitlin Stern, has written. Just a beautiful thought!

  2. Marcia says:

    It’s beautiful, Caitlin, and now I see what you meant about our flower posts. 🙂 Only, I can’t take credit for mine this morning. Yours is such a lovely image. Nice job!

What are your thoughts?

