Tasty spam... Image from WikiMedia by Bodo Akdeniz

Tasty spam…
Image from WikiMedia by Bodo Akdeniz

I participate in Weekend Writing Warriors, a blog hop where you read a critique 8 sentence snippets of writing, and other people read yours.

It’s a lot of fun, and it gets me to blogs I wouldn’t see otherwise.

But some people have captchas on their blogs–you know, the string of numbers, or picture of blurry numbers, or warped and twisted letters. All difficult to read and type in.

All a bit annoying.

Do you find a lot of spam makes it through WordPress’ filters, bloggers?

I know my follower numbers are small by comparison, and I’d guess the bigger the blog, the more spam you get targeted for.

And I completely understand moderating first comments–that makes sense. But once someone’s established as a real person who’s not trying to sell something, isn’t that enough?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

3 responses »

  1. I tend to have peaks and troughs with spam. One day I spotted something like 186 spam comments (!!!) and then other days I don’t get anything.
    I’ve no idea how it works, or why, but to my mind, once you confirm who you are the once that should be enough.

    That’s how my blog works, anyway.

What are your thoughts?

