Probably any writer has seen a story prompt or seven, little snippets that are supposed to get you started on a story idea. This one has probably been in something, somewhere, but it sort of floated in my mind one day and spawned a bunch of possibilities.

*             *              *             *             *

She walked into the bar, studying the room as she went, gaze stopping on a man sitting in one of the booths. He glanced up, saw her, and shoved out of his seat.

“You!” He yelled.

“Yes, me.” She held the door open, and two men in suits stepped in behind her. “You thought we were dead, my sister and I, didn’t you?”

“I…” He glanced behind him, feet shuffling backward on the dingy carpet as he looked for an escape route. One of the men calmly walked through the tables, stopping in front of the back exit.

“You were only half right,” the woman said. “These detectives have some questions for you.”

His shoulders slumped, and she smiled a bright, cold grin.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

