Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten square

April 22: Top Ten Characters Who X (you fill in the blank — examples: piss me off, are the popular kids, are bookish, would be my bff, that stole my heart, etc. etc.)

Top Ten Characters I’d Like to be Friends With

trickster choice

1. Aly. Trickster’s Choice; Tamora Pierce. Aly’s got a sense of humor, duty, and a willingness to argue with anyone–even a god.

pride and prejudice

2. Elizabeth Bennet. Pride & Prejudice; Jane Austen. She loves to laugh, and share those laughs with others, and enjoys a good book.

The Fault in Our Stars

3. Hazel. The Fault in Our Stars; John Green. Hazel’s a little obsessed with a book, and that makes her my kind of person.

magic rises magic bites

4. Kate. Magic Bites; Ilona Andrews. Kate’s a little scary, but she’s incredibly cool.

graceling

5. Katsa. Graceling; Kristin Cashore. Katsa is a survivor, smart, and loyal.

light fantastic

6. Librarian. Discworld; Terry Pratchett. A wizard transformed into an orangutan, the Librarian does his best to contain magic, sentient, often violent books, and does it with style and the occasional ‘Oook.’

matilda

7. Matilda. Matilda; Roald Dahl. She loves books, and has telekinesis–and quite the willpower and sense of humor.

warrior's

8. Miles. The Warrior’s Apprentice; Lois McMaster Bujold. I think I’d prefer the slightly calmer version of Miles in the older books, but all ages are a little manic, wildly funny, and capable of moving mountains.

howls moving castle

9. Sophie. Howl’s Moving Castle; Diana Wynne Jones. Sophie is completely undaunted in the face of a wicked curse, and handles all sorts of problems with focus and stubbornness that’s almost rude.

princess bride

10. Wesley. The Princess Bride; William Goldman. He’ll do anything for his one true love–even dangerous  or deadly risks–and he does it with flair.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

10 responses »

  1. lynnsbooks says:

    Some great choices, Wesley, Sophie and Katsa in particular.
    Lynn 😀

  2. I think after looking over your list I have some more books to be added to my TBR list.

  3. Ashley says:

    I think they should have more open-ended TTT. People are coming up with such great ideas this week. I really like your topic!

    Lizzie seems like she would be a great friend. After all, she always sticks up for Charlotte and they have what appears to be a genuine friendship (there’s no undertone of jealousy). Which I think there needs to be more healthy female-female friendships in literature. It always seems like we are pitted against one another.

    I loved Hazel in TFIOS, but I think it would be really difficult to be her friend. I wouldn’t know what to say, and I would feel guilty about being healthy and watching my friend struggle just to breathe. I’ve never been in a situation like this, so who knows, maybe I’d react differently.

  4. Emily says:

    I have so much love for Westley! Partially because when I was a kid I thought Cary Elwes was my one true love. But I loved his character as much in the book as I did in the movie, whereas Buttercup mostly just drove me nuts in the book!

  5. MidnightPageTurners says:

    Great choices, particularly Hazel, good to see her there 🙂

What are your thoughts?

