Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesday2

May 20: Ten Books About Friendship

abundance of katherines

1. An Abundance of Katherines; John Green. Hassan is doing everything he can to rescue Colin, he of the dumped by nineteen Katherines fame, from post-breakup despair.

anne green gables

2. Anne of Green Gables; L.M. Montgomery. Anne would be a sometimes difficult friend to have, but she’s certainly a devoted one.

charlotte web

3. Charlotte’s Web; E.B. White. Usually, you wouldn’t think a spider could be a good friend–Charlotte proves otherwise.

fried green tomatoes

4. Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe; Fannie Flagg. Idgie and Ruth, Ninny and Evelyn–friendships tie together the two stories in this book–and move mountains.

graceling

5. Graceling; Kristin Cashore. I always admire relationships that start as friendships, not insta-love. This book has an excellent example of that.

deathly hallows

6. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows; J.K. Rowling. Really, any HP book could make this list–but the last one, I think, has the friendships being put to the test the most.

lamb

7. Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal; Christopher Moore. The title says it all, doesn’t it?

lola and the boy

8. Lola and the Boy Next Door; Stephanie Perkins. Another cute example of friendship turned into love.

matilda

9. Matilda; Roald Dahl. Matilda has some very staunch friends–brave children her age, and one very brave teacher who help her face the monstrous Trunchbull.

wallflower

10. The Perks of Being a Wallflower; Stephen Chobsky. Charlie would do anything for his friends, which isn’t always a good thing–so he has to learn about limits, too.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

11 responses »

  1. I am starting to wonder how in the world I left out The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Perfect example of great friendship. Ugh. Oh well, great list! Charlotte’s Web.. :sigh: ❤

  2. I like your list. I have Fried Green Tomatoes on my list too. And I thought about adding Anne of Green Gables too. It’s one of my favorites.

  3. lynnsbooks says:

    Ahh, some lovely choices on here. Love Charlotte’s Web made an appearance.
    Lynn 😀

  4. I read Graceling a while ago and it definitely did have a pretty great friendship. My favorite friendship of all time would definitely have to be in Perks of Being a Wallflower; it’s one of my favorite books. An Abundance of Katherines is the only John Green book I haven’t read; I’ll definitely have to do that soon! Thanks for sharing! (:

    • caitlinstern says:

      I tackled my John Green reading list in a pretty haphazard fashion after I read TFioS–but An Abundance of Katherines was definitely one of my favorites. Hope you enjoy it!

  5. Many wonderful choices here. I wouldn’t have even considered Charlottes Web (it’s been ages since I’ve even given this book some thought)…but it’s certainly making the rounds on many lists this week!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  6. danitronmc says:

    Graceling! Lola! John Green! HP! Love your list!

What are your thoughts?

