Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentues

May 27: Top Ten Tuesday Freebie! Pick your own topic! I decided to modify an old one–characters I’d name my pets after. (Because naming your children odd things is cruel, but your dog doesn’t care.)

tinker2

1. Alexander “Tinker” Graham Bell. Elfhome; Wen Spencer. Perfect for the smart, inventive pets that get into closed cupboards and locked doors–and it’s an interesting thing to name a girl.

terrier

 

2. Beka Cooper. Terrier; Tamora Pierce. This would be a great dog name–for a terrier, bloodhound, or mastiff as the titles say, especially.

elizabeth bennet

3. Elizabeth Bennet. Pride and Prejudice; Jane Austen. For a sassy lady who likes long walks.

hazel gus

4. Hazel Grace Lancaster/Augustus Waters. The Fault in Our Stars; John Green. You’d have to have a pair of these, whatever pet you named after these characters–lovebirds would be appropriate.

hermione granger

5. Hermione Granger. Harry Potter; J.K. Rowling. A perfect name for a long haired cat, who can give you superior looks when you mispronounce words.

inigo-montoya

6. Inigo Montoya. The Princess Bride; William Goldman. Just don’t kill his father.

by the sword

 

7. Kerowyn. By the Sword; Mercedes Lackey. Another tough, capable, lady–probably well armed, too.

 

miles vorkosigan

8. Miles Naismith Vorkosigan. Vorkosigan Saga; Lois McMaster Bujold. Everybody has had a pet that’s small, high energy, and a little crazy, just like Miles.

sophie

9. Sophie. Howl’s Moving Castle; Diana Wynne Jones. A capable, take no nonsense kind of pet–with a touch of magic.

susan sto helit

10. Susan Sto Helit. Discworld; Terry Pratchett. A black and white animal would be fitting for this name, or perhaps something exotic or otherwise unusual.

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

9 responses »

  1. deliabattie says:

    I think one day I’ll have a pair of cats called Will and Lyra after the characters in His Dark Materials. Inigo Montoya’s a great choice!

  2. Anne says:

    Haha, Inigo Montoya is my favorite from this list! Both of my dogs had their names when we got them, so I haven’t really had a chance to do a pet name. I always liked Nibbler from Futurama though. Maybe one day if I adopt a puppy.

    • caitlinstern says:

      Thanks! I found an old TTT that was for children’s names, but I really believe you can name a pet something you probably shouldn’t name a child, so I made a small change.

  3. I love number 6. “You killed my father, prepare to die!” And I definitely think Hermonie (did I spell that right) is a great name for a cat!

  4. What a fun topic! I’ll admit it took my family a while to come up with a name for our pup and we definitely settled on a name based off of a band haha, so I totally understand the logic behind some of these choices!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • caitlinstern says:

      Pet names are surprisingly hard, assuming you don’t choose something simple, like Fluffy for a long-haired animal, Spot for a spotted one, etc.

      I’ve only had one pet so far that wasn’t already named, but I think the idea of naming one after someone you admire–author, character, actor, musician, or whatever, is a good one.

What are your thoughts?

