Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten sunset

June 3: Top Ten Books That Should Be In Your Beach Bag or Ten Books That Will Be In My Beach Bag This Summer

Because the beach, with all it’s sun, is not agreeable to my skin, these are more beachy kind of reads–summery, light, and fun.

agnes hitman

1Agnes and the Hitman; Jennifer Crusie & Bob Mayer. A hitman is sent to protect Agnes, who’s far to busy with wedding planning to deal with people trying to kill her and take the money that may be hidden in her house.

along for the ride

2. Along for the Ride; Sarah Dessen. A girl suffering from her parent’s recent divorce spends the summer in her father’s new house by the beach, and learns how to live without her demanding mother’s presence.

bet me

3. Bet Me; Jennifer Crusie. Two people go on a date because of a bet, and though they decide never to see each other again, things have a way of working out differently than planned.

blue jeans

4. Blue Jeans and Coffee Beans; Joanne DeMaio. A woman returns to her family’s New England cottage to wrap up family business, and reconnect to old friends.

folly beach

5. On Folly Beach; Karen White. A recent widow buys a bookstore on Folly Beach, and discovers a trove of old letters with dangerous secrets.

Island

6. The Island; Elin Hilderbrand. Four women go to an island retreat to heal from their problems, but when your troubles are in your mind, there’s no real escape.

on island

7. On the Island; Tracy Garvis-Graves. A seventeen-year-old boy and thirty-year old woman are trapped on a deserted island when the seaplane they are on crashes, after a long time with no rescue, feeling develop.

island sequined love nun

8. Island of the Sequined Love Nun; Christopher Moore. Set in a tropical paradise, where mad scientists and cannibals are the least of pilot Tucker Case’s problems. His big issue–keeping his boss, the island’s high priestess, happy.

Let's Pretend

9. Let’s Pretend this Never Happened; Jenny Lawson. The Bloggess’ life is laugh out loud funny, sometimes tragicomic, but if weird is your kind of thing, she’s your kind of writer.

witches abroad

10. Witches Abroad; Terry Pratchett. Three witches travel to another kingdom to prevent the serving girl from marrying the prince, while an evil godmother works to earn a happily ever after no matter the cost.

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

13 responses »

  1. This list is the epitome of a girly summer reading list, and I love it! There are so many cute books on this list!

    • caitlinstern says:

      When I think beach reads, this is it–the fluffy kind of book that you can pick up and put down to go swimming or shopping, without angst over what happens next.

  2. deliabattie says:

    Love your list. Bet Me is possibly the most perfect romance book ever written!

  3. lynnsbooks says:

    I love the look of the Pratchett – will have to go and look for that.
    Lynn 😀

    • caitlinstern says:

      Pratchett is one of my favorite authors–he’s written a lot of Discworld books, but each set of characters has an arc–the witches, the cops, the wizards, Death… Hope you enjoy!

  4. I see you have a couple of Jennifer Crusie books on her list. While I was still working at the library I went to a reader’s advisory conference and got the chance to me here. Actually sat at the same luncheon table. She’s a really neat person and she spoke on the empowerment of women in Romance novels. I asked her if I could have her notes she used to speak on and she gave them to me. Also I’ve read On the Island and loved it. The author handled things very appropriately. Have a great day!

    • caitlinstern says:

      That’s amazing–I love meeting authors!

      I found On the Island at my library, I just have to work my way through my every growing TBR list to get to it. 🙂

  5. danitronmc says:

    YES, Sarah Dessen! I feel like pretty much all of her books would make FANTASTIC beach reads;)

    • caitlinstern says:

      Yep. Though the other TTT have almost won me over to the idea of mysteries as vacation reads.

      Almost, because I can generally set aside something romance-related, secure that the HEA is coming–but some mysteries I have to keep reading to see who the killer is.

  6. Marcia says:

    I can vouch for almost anything by Karen White. She’s becoming a favorite of mine, and I loved On Folly Beach. And of course, anything by Terry Pratchett is surely a winner. And don’t smack me, but the last week to ten days have been so hectic, I haven’t know top from bottom, so I still haven’t “signed up” for Top Ten Tuesdays, yet. I’m going to do it, I swear. IF my proof of Swamp Ghosts arrives today as promised, and looks good. No guarantees, though, if I have to make any more changes in it. I swear, CreateSpace has made a crazy woman out of me, and I’m determined to streamline the process before the sequel to Wake-Robin Ridge is done!! Enjoyed your list, here, and am taking notes.

    • caitlinstern says:

      Hey, TTT are supposed to be a fun way to share lists of books and maybe find some new reads–not an overwhelming piece of work on top of an already too-large pile.

      Join whenever works for you–that’s part of what I like about it, that you can choose to participate or skip topics as you like.

      Good luck with CreateSpace!

      • Marcia says:

        Thanks, Caitlin. Got the proof and it looks great. Nothing is jumping out at me as being wrong, though I’m going to sit down and peruse the entire thing tonight. I just might give the okay on this by Monday or Tuesday, and it will be up and available. Yay. Yes, I like the flexibility of the TTT, and I really do want to join in. I’m just a bit overwhelmed right now, trying to adjust to my Author Interview stuff, and giveaways, etc. But I’m getting caught up. And I MAY have a book signing lined up for late August/early September, too. That would be cool! 🙂 But I DO want to get in on TTT soon. It is always so much fun to read your lists.

What are your thoughts?

