20140225_172700

”Sugarhill’ times two.

Have you ever had something simple cause you to do a double take? The ordinary things in life, which you often pass by without a second thought, sometimes jump out at you when your brain processes what your eyes saw.

I was walking down a street, and glanced up at the street sign as I passed it. What I saw made me fish out my phone and take a picture.

It’s the same street name on both signs, with the arrows pointing at right angles to each other.

The road curves, so it is one street. The sign isn’t wrong, or anything. But it seems redundant to me–generally, I don’t think curving roads suddenly become a new one. Though I have experienced the baffling phenomena of a road having different names in each direction at an intersection.

It’s weird, though. And a little funny. Are there any odd signs in your area?

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

2 responses »

  1. The road I live on is not the road used as my address.

What are your thoughts?

