This 8 sentence blog hop is hosted by The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link for the list of participants, or rules if you want to join!)

Shield of Namarr is a sword-and-sorcerer type fantasy WIP, set in a kingdom that suffers from magically-created, vicious creatures. Three friends have gone to a mage’s house in order to purchase a potion, and as they are walking through the garden, a statue of a dragon moves.

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge

 

“Oh, hello, Bell,” the mage said cheerfully, “haven’t seen you on guard duty in a while.”

“Sometimes I like a break from the gardening,” the dragon stretched and settling down on all four feet.

Auber spotted something moving deeper in the garden—a statue of a centaur half-hidden behind some bushes, peering at the group. When the centaur saw Auber, the statue ducked out of sight, backing up so a swishing white-stone tail emerged from the opposite side of the bushes. Smothering a giggle, Auber studied the rest of the statues, but none of the rest moved except for the manticore sleeping on the other side of the path, which winked.

Reagan loved to garden, and had fallen into a conversation with the mage and the dragon about the best kind of mulch to use for high sun exposed beds.

A loud throat clearing had no effect on them, or the bout of coughing the throat-clearing set off, so Shan finally decided to be rude and interrupt. “Excuse me?”

*   *   *

Originally, Shield of Namarr was intended to be a very short snippet, but some things I wrote at the end raised some questions–which led to more story. I’m trying to decide whether I want to do some world-building and character development so I can keep writing, or drop it.

Shan, Auber, and Reagan visit a Stonespeller, a mage who works mostly in animated stone, to buy a potion that will help them recover a lost stone, the Shield of Namarr, which powers a shield that keeps magically-created, dangerous creatures from entering the city they live in. Failure to return the Shield quickly will have deadly consequences for their friend,  Jamie, whose life-force is currently powering the shield-spell.

 

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

28 responses »

  1. Love it 🙂 Very whimsical. Haha, I love the “or the bout of coughing the throat clearing set off”…great 8!

  2. Love this, I want a garden like you’re describing! Great 8!

  3. What a change from London! This eight has a lot of charm and whimsy. Thank you, Caitlin.

    • caitlinstern says:

      Can you tell I kinda want this house and garden? 😉

      I have serious moments planned ahead, but this story started here–in the garden, with the talking statues.

  4. Botanist says:

    A dragon discussing gardening! I love it 🙂

  5. I am with Victoria, I want a garden like this. Love the snippet.

  6. I love getting sidetracked in a discussion of garden9ing.

    • caitlinstern says:

      Nothing wrong with talking about your passion… unless, perhaps, you have an adventure to undertake and people to save. Then, it’s probably time to get a move on! 🙂

  7. Carrie-Anne says:

    I love the idea of a garden with all those fantasy creatures.

  8. alexissduran says:

    Having just come in from two hours of pulling weeds, yeah, I want a gardening dragon! Love the setting and images you’ve created.

  9. evelynjules says:

    I think the only way I’d actually be inspired to garden is if I had these little creature friends to entertain me while I tended to it. Great eight! 🙂

    • caitlinstern says:

      These are useful friends–they actually do a lot of the work.

      I don’t think the snippet mentions it, but these statues aren’t little at all. The dragon is about ten feet long–big enough to be plenty scary when looking at you.

  10. Gem says:

    Whimsical scene that made me smile. Excellent 8! 🙂

  11. chellecordero says:

    What a truly magical garden! I could imagine gardening among all of the “stone statues” and chatting away as I worked. Great 8.

  12. Sarah W says:

    Add me to the list of people who want more, Caitlin! 🙂

  13. burnsmillie says:

    I think you need to world build and expand…I love this little bit I’ve seen!

What are your thoughts?

