Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues flowers

 

June 10: Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

This was actually and easy one, as I have exactly ten 5-star ratings on Goodreads for this year so far.

cress

1. Cress; Marissa Meyer. (Lunar Chronicles #3) A cyborg Cinderella facing a seriously evil Queen, with a version of Red Riding Hood and Rapunzel by her side.

everything leads

2. Everything Leads to You; Nina LaCour. A sweet love story, and a young woman finding her passion–and helping to make a movie.

goblin emperor

3. The Goblin Emperor; Katherine Addison. The unexpected, near-forgotten heir ends up on the throne, and struggles to fill a difficult job, do the best for his people, and find out why the first emperor and the eldest sons died.

mambo in chinatown

4. Mambo in Chinatown; Jean Kwok. The daughter of immigrants, a young woman struggles to find her place between two cultures–and to realize a dream.

murder of crows

5. Murder of Crows; Anne Bishop. (The Others #2) There are still powers who want to take control of the blood prophet, and now they’re stepping up their attack on the Others.

raising steam

6. Raising Steam; Terry Pratchett. (Part of a series, but stands alone fine) Steam power has come to Discworld, as inventors create the first steam-powered train–the world will never be the same.

The actual cover.

7. Silver Mirrors; A.A. Aguirre. (Apparatus Infernum #2) Two supernatural investigators don’t know what’s behind the strange occurrences in town, but they do know they hint at a larger, deadly problem.

something real

8. Something Real; Heather Demetrios. Raised on a reality show, a young woman struggles for independence, and acceptance of how the show shaped her childhood.

swamp ghosts

9. Swamp Ghosts; Marcia Meara. A woman struggles to keep her business afloat while a serial killer is stalking her small town, and danger lurks everywhere.

whatnot

10. The Whatnot; Stephan Bachmann. (The Peculiar #2) Changelings don’t fit in well with humans, and the humans have been pushing the fairies out of their world–now, the fairies are striking back.

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

10 responses »

  1. Mari says:

    You can almost never go wrong with Terry Pratchett books. At least, for me. Great list! Some of the authors are definitely on my to-read list at some point.

    • caitlinstern says:

      Pratchett is one of my re-read authors, I adore the way he has me snickering or outright laughing–but also makes me think.

      There’s always more books, right?

      • Mari says:

        Night Watch pretty much made laugh and tear a bit as well as contemplate on Pratchett’s stories, so yeah, more books from him eventually wind their way into my reading list. I’m a little lucky I haven’t read a lot of his work, so I can always discover a Pratchett book one after another.

  2. Cress made it on to so many lists I seriously need to read Scarlet so I can read Cress:) I just bought Everything Leads to You so I’m happy to see it on lists.

  3. I love Cress! I think every book in this series just gets better and better.

  4. I really want to read Everything Leads to You! It’s on my summer TBR. I’m glad to know that you liked it enough to give it a 5 star rating! I’m looking forward to reading it.

    • caitlinstern says:

      It’s a sweet, well-developed love story that supports some serious character growth. A nice, thoughtful sort of book, and with beautiful description. It earned every one of those stars, in my opinion. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

