This 8 sentence blog hop is hosted by The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link for the list of participants, or rules if you want to join!)

Shield of Namarr is a sword-and-sorcerer type fantasy WIP, set in a kingdom that suffers from magically-created, vicious creatures. Three friends have gone to a mage’s house in order to purchase a potion, and part of the group grows distracted talking about gardening, so Shan has to interrupt.

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge

 

“Oh, sorry,” the mage flushed and starting fussing with the pointy black hat with three blue-jay feathers stuck in its brim, perched precariously atop a riot of black curls. “I love plants, so I created my guards more to help me with the yard than to prevent intruders, though they’re very good at that.”

“Nearly ate a thief last week,” the dragon confirmed.

“Bluebell!” The mage shook a finger at the dragon, “My statues don’t eat people, they have no stomachs, so they—hey, why don’t we go inside? You needed a potion for finding something you lost, right?” Stepping around the three of them, the mage led the way. “Follow me!”

*   *   *

Originally, Shield of Namarr was intended to be a very short snippet, but some things I wrote at the end raised some questions–which led to more story. I’m trying to decide whether I want to do some world-building and character development so I can keep writing, or drop it.

Shan, Auber, and Reagan visit a Stonespeller, a mage who works mostly in animated stone, to buy a potion that will help them recover a lost stone, the Shield of Namarr, which powers a shield that keeps magically-created, dangerous creatures from entering the city they live in. Failure to return the Shield quickly will have deadly consequences for their friend,  Jamie, whose life-force is currently powering the shield-spell.

 

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

30 responses »

  1. Wonderful eight. You had me laughing out loud and what a premise. Thanks, Caitlin.

  2. Lorien Lyn says:

    Really enjoyed your fantasy snippet. Great dialogue!

  3. alexissduran says:

    I love the image of the mage. Can’t wait to see the inside of his house!

  4. Sarah Cass says:

    I do love the mage…so much fun. Can’t wait to see more of this one.

  5. Botanist says:

    No stomachs? So that’s why it was “nearly ate” then 🙂
    This is a fun world.

    • caitlinstern says:

      Being bitten repeatedly by stone jaws and teeth is very likely fatal anyway… and the non-consumption not so reassuring.
      I’m not actually sure if the thief lived or not–I’ll leave that up to the readers. 😉

  6. Sarah W says:

    That incomplete sentence is perfect, Caitlin! I love this scene. 🙂

    • caitlinstern says:

      Even in the most serious of quests, I can’t resist a little humor. And I love this mage character, the Stonespeller–who means well, but has created some pretty dangerous gardener/guards.

  7. I love the blue jay feathers in the hat.

  8. Carrie-Anne says:

    This is such a fun story! It reminds me a little bit of Bruce Coville’s fantasy stories.

    • caitlinstern says:

      I have read more than a few of those, myself. Loved them when I was a kid. And really wanted a dragon!

      It gets a bit more serious soon, but I couldn’t resist the humor.

  9. Well I certainly vote to keep this little world going, thoroughly enjoyed the snippet (and last week’s, which I still vividly recall). Really great and I want to know more! Terrific excerpt.

  10. Loved this snippet, especially “My statues don’t eat people…” 🙂 Great work.

  11. Enjoyed your magical creatures. You had me at ‘dragon’. 😀

  12. chellecordero says:

    Your descriptions are very vivid, I can almost feel a stone statue coming to life behind me, lol.

  13. Great dialogue. Love the magic and the dragon!!!

    • caitlinstern says:

      Thanks! I can picture this garden quite clearly–crowded with plant beds, statues scattered about, weeding, trimming, or planting. Maybe not the most exciting use of magic, but the mage does need some help with so many plants involved.

  14. velvetpanic says:

    Lovely details 🙂

What are your thoughts?

