This 8 sentence blog hop is hosted by The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link for the list of participants, or rules if you want to join!)

Shield of Namarr is a sword-and-sorcerer type fantasy WIP, set in a kingdom that suffers from magically-created, vicious creatures. Three friends have gone to a mage’s house in order to purchase a potion, and are led into the house.

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge

 

The teenagers exchanged worried glances, but if they didn’t locate the Shield of Namarr, they’d never rescue their friend Jamie, and the Stonespeller was the only mage they could afford.

Walking carefully in the center of the path to avoid anything that might be lurking in the greenery, they walked into the open door, which swung shut behind them with a soft tap.

Inside, the mage’s house was crammed with shelves and cabinets in a rainbow of woods, lining the walls in every available space—even around windows and above doorways.

“Have a seat!” The mage waved to a half-dozen wooden chairs, all upholstered in a cream fabric with a green vine pattern. The chairs sat in a rough half-circle, facing a long , wide counter, completely empty of clutter. That changed in a moment, as the Stonespeller opened cabinets, stretching to grab items high over head, and crouching below the counter to retrieve items stored in cabinets below—glass vials with liquids or powders, a few larger jars with dried herb leaves, and a small cauldron.

Each item formed a neat line when the last cabinet door clicked shut, the cauldron at the end of the row.

*   *   *

Originally, Shield of Namarr was intended to be a very short snippet, but some things I wrote at the end raised some questions–which led to more story. I’m trying to decide whether I want to do some world-building and character development so I can keep writing, or drop it.

Shan, Auber, and Reagan visit a Stonespeller, a mage who works mostly in animated stone, to buy a potion that will help them recover a lost stone, the Shield of Namarr, which powers a shield that keeps magically-created, dangerous creatures from entering the city they live in. Failure to return the Shield quickly will have deadly consequences for their friend,  Jamie, whose life-force is currently powering the shield-spell.

 

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

30 responses »

  1. Sarah W says:

    I love “Stonespeller”!

    I’m also loving this scene—I wish my kitchen was that well organized!

  2. I LOVE this story, your descriptions are so wonderful. I want more, I want to go there myself….excellent excerpt!

  3. I love that the teens couldn’t afford anyone else so they had to choose him. Descriptions is perfect. You brought this reader into the house. Thanks, Caitlin.

  4. Botanist says:

    …around windows and above doorways – that is my kind of room! But the clutter-free worktop and the speed with which he found things he was looking for suggests an extremely tidy and organized mage.

    • caitlinstern says:

      Can you tell I’ve always wanted a library with built in bookshelves crammed in everywhere? 😉

      The Stonespeller has a lot of stuff, but it is organized–with a healthy dose of magical assistance.

  5. Great snippet. I can clearly see the rom and love how he pulls everything out.
    I am not quite sure about the last sentence. At first I thought something was missing, the cauldron at the end of the row what? I had to read it a few times to understand what you were saying. But as I am the only one saying something it’s probably just me needing more tea;).

    • caitlinstern says:

      I will check the sentence out, see if I can see what you mean. Sometimes the snippets have odd little moments because there’s meant to be another sentence following after. Or I just forgot a word.

      Hope the tea revives you! 🙂

  6. Carrie-Anne says:

    I’d love to visit that mage’s house. This is the kind of fantasy story I could totally get into.

  7. Cara Bristol says:

    I like that three teenagers are working together. Love the “stonespeller.” Nice snippet all around.

  8. Maybe the ingredients snap back to their storage places by magic when he’s done with them? Only way my kitchen would ever get that organized.

  9. Sounds very whimsical but beautiful 🙂 I wish I had that magic! I think you’ve got some great world-building going here, but I’d love to see more of the characters 🙂

  10. evelynjules says:

    Great little details throughout out, like the rainbow of woods, and the vines around the chairs! Such a cool scene!

  11. yhosby says:

    I like how the snippet starts with the friends showing worried glances. It piqued my interest right away, thinking the characters were in danger. You’re really good with setting details; I could picture everything vividly in my head.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

  12. burnsmillie says:

    I wonder how he knows what things he needs before he even talks to the kids…or is this for some other purpose all together?

    • caitlinstern says:

      It’s not in the story, but they’ve already told the mage what they want to purchase–they met in a courtyard, talked, and the Stonespeller led the group to the house.

      It would be kind of funny if tea was being made, though, wouldn’t it?

  13. Gem says:

    I like your world. I hope you decide to stay in it and build some more. I definitely will be back to visit.

  14. Excellent description. Felt like I was there! Intrigued to know what will happen next.

What are your thoughts?

