Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesday2

July 1: Top Ten Favorite Classic Books (however you define classic) or Top Ten Classics I Want To Read

Favorite Classics

fahrenheit 451

1. Fahrenheit 451; Ray Bradbury. There’s a bunch of interesting dystopian classics out there, but this is one of my favorites.

frankenstein

2. Frankenstein; Mary Shelley. Is your only knowledge of Frankenstein’s monster from movies or tv? Fix it! Fix it now!

 

3. Moby Dick; Herman Melville. Now, I can sense the eye-rolling, but I have a suggestion–skip the chapters on the anatomy of the whale. They’re just Melville showing off his knowledge of the ‘whale fish.’ And skim any sections you bog down in. The core of the story is fascinating–revenge, obsession, friendship, loyalty, greed… there’s a bit of padding, is all.

dorian gray

4. Picture of Dorian Gray; Oscar Wilde. So many stories relate to this one. Dorian is quite the character, and it’s a surprisingly quick read.

Classics I Want to Read

great expectationstale two cities

5. Great Expectations/Tale of Two Cities; Charles Dickens. Somehow, I’ve missed pretty much everything by Dickens. These are the two I want to start with.

gulliver

6. Gulliver’s Travels; Johnathan Swift. I know the story, but I’ve never read it.

lady chatterly

7. Lady Chatterly’s Lover; D.H. Lawrence. Seen this book on so many lists.

things carried

8. The Things They Carried; Tim O’Brien. I’ve read pieces of this, but not the whole thing.

vanity fair

9. Vanity Fair; William Makepeace Thackery. Another title that passed me by.

wuthering heights

10. Wuthering Heights; Emily Bronte. I’m a little iffy on this–I think I won’t like the characters, but it is a classic.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

16 responses »

  1. Loved Fahrenheit 451! All but the ending really. The rest of the book made up for it though!

  2. Mari says:

    Agreed with Picture of Dorian Gray. For a classic, it’s surprisingly quick and easy to understand, and relatable, even when it was based on a particular time period.

    • caitlinstern says:

      Have you seen the show Penny Dreadful? It has, among other characters, Dorian Gray in it, and he’s exactly who I’d expect him to be.

      • Mari says:

        I caught the first episode on Hulu for their promo of the show, but haven’t got the chance to dig in to the next epis, as it were. Penny Dreadful’s on my to-watch list, though, and from the looks of it, the person who plays Dorian does seem fitting for the part!

  3. lynnsbooks says:

    These lists are great – I’ve read 8 of these. I’ve only read Something Wicked by Bradbury but currently have Dandelion Wine waiting tbr – I must also add Fahrenheit 451 to the list.
    Lynn 😀

  4. moosha23 says:

    It’s taken me THIS long to think to click on your username and be transported to your site!
    Dorian Gray is one of my favourite classics ever, in fact Wilde as a person is one of my favourite persons ever!
    I’ve heard all good things about Vanity Fair, it seems an interesting read!

  5. I should probably just add all of these to my list. Several of them I have read in either high school or college, but somehow I’ve never picked up Lady Chatterly’s Lover or Vanity Fair. I’m not sure how well I would do with a book as large as Vanity Fair, but maybe one day I’ll be up to the challenge. Great list.

    • caitlinstern says:

      I have a bit of a weakness for big books–I’ve read 27 that are 800+, and 9 of those were over 1,000 pages–even as I grumble about lugging them around and wrist strain from reading them.

      They just take a bit longer, is all. 🙂

      • That’s amazing to me! I cannot imagine reading something over 1,000 pages.

        You’re right; they just take a little longer to read. I guess they seem so intimidating to me because I only read one book at a time. Maybe one day I’ll pick up something that’s over 500 pages.

        • caitlinstern says:

          It would be harder if you only read one book at a time. I always read a smaller book that’s easier to transport–unless I’m near the end.

          Some authors I like–like Neal Stephenson–have a tendency toward complex plots that just can’t be folded into a shorter book. But that kind of book isn’t for everyone!

  6. Great list Caitlin 🙂 you MAY just be persuading me to try Moby Dick. And, no, I haven’t read Frankenstein yet! (I know) I too love Fahrenheit 451 and finally persuaded my other half to start it last week. His first slice of true dystopia! (Apart from 1984 that is).
    I’m so excite you’re finally going to discover Dickens. My advice would be to start him in Autumn/Winter. The chilly vibe makes his grimy Victorian London all the more atmospheric.

    • caitlinstern says:

      Yes, I just have to go get a book from the library. This is generally stymied by my tendency, despite knowing better, to put 25 books on hold at the library (which is the limit.)

      I swear the librarians send them all at once just to spite me. 😉

What are your thoughts?

