I made resolutions–ten for a Top Ten, some of which are more important than others–and we are now halfway through the year, so I’m doing an update. But only on the ones I’ve made progress on.

Read TBR pile

There were 11 books sitting on a shelf when I started, so I settled on one a month, leaving December free. I’m on track this quarter, with one for each month. However, since I added 6 new books to the stack, I decided to step this up–and start mixing in newly acquired books with the old ones. I’ve read 5 of those new ones, so far. And at the halfway point, have the exact same number of books on the stacks as when I started. Progress?

TBR2 June 14

Work on Kindle backlog

I keep getting more of these, of course, but I decided to read at least one a week.  At the beginning of the year, I had 65 unread ebooks, the end of March saw me with 50, and now I have 48. Holding steady is probably about the best I can expect, with all the tempting free/cheap ones out there.

Winnow bookshelves

I divided my shelves into 18 sections, which allows for a section about every 3 weeks. The first section for this quarter went slow and steady, but the next sections went so fast that I finished the five sections for this quarter by the beginning of May. So I kept going, and finished the whole thing in June. (More later.)

These are the rest of the books that came off my shelves!

These are the rest of the books that came off my shelves!

Submit manuscripts

I haven’t made any progress on this–except I have finally, finally started editing my NaNoWriMo story. Which is the first step to submitting it.

Spend more time with family

This quarter I made this goal splendidly, hanging out with family a total of 5 times, which is far more than I’ve done in a long time. It’s nice to see your family, isn’t it?

Exercise

Using a handy little app on my phone, I set a walking goal. Knowing my limits, I aimed for below the 10,000 suggestion. But after a while of exceeding 7,000 steps, I moved my goal up to 8,000. Some days I go as high as 15,000, but many days hover around my goal.

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

4 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    You are doing great, Caitlin! Way to go! I’m inspired…not to actually DO anything, but to make more GOALS. 😀 You have many more goals than I, I’m afraid. Mine is mostly just to wake up in the morning (always a good thing), and make time to write. Everything else kind of falls into the “I Hope I Find Time For” category. Now I know I need to bump those things up to actual GOALS. *grabbing paper and pencil, even as I type, and don’t think that isn’t a trick!* 😀

    • caitlinstern says:

      You have all kinds of goals–blogging and writing and tweeting and editing and formatting and gardening, to name a few.

      Putting in them in a list only makes them easier to keep track of. Though I admit I like the kind you can complete the best. 🙂

      • Marcia says:

        I think most of those things are actually more like pipedreams than goals! 😉 But thanks, anyway. Lately, I’m falling short on a lot of them. But I’m not giving up, at least!

What are your thoughts?

