This was mentioned in a previous post, but I’m so proud of myself I wanted to share some details! ๐Ÿ™‚ I finished winnowing my bookshelves, and in half the time I budgeted. Of course, I gave myself a year, but still.

Turns out asking myself: ‘will I read this book again?’ is not the way to go. The proper question is: ‘I have read this book, and if I saw it in a bookstore, would I buy it?’ That question helped me weed out the ‘good’ books from the ‘must read again’ books.

My bookshelves looked like this in January:

Bookshelf

And now, in June, they look like this:

finished shelves 6 14

 

Plus a little shelf next to it, which, believe it or not, was completely filled by the books from one (the last) shelf.

Little shelf2 6 14

Until I fell into the rhythm of it, the shelves took quite a while to get through. I started off thinking I wouldn’t make too much of a difference, so I rearranged as I went, sliding books toward the right and down. Then, as I reached the last few shelves, I realized that I would actually have a gap at the end.

So I had to slide the books left and up, which I waited until I was completely finished to do, having learned my lesson.

20140604_022403

Cat, ‘helping.’

In the end, the books made about a half-shelf gain, even with many of the in-front books moving to their proper place.ย I’m quite pleased with the results–I still have books stacked in front, and on top of other books, but significantly less.

I can actually see most of my library now!

 

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

9 responses »

  1. moosha23 says:

    Your bookshelves are freaking amazing! Wow, three bookshelves! Three! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Somehow I always find re-organising my bookshelf a soothing therapeutic activity…although even if I do it regularly they end up messy and chaotic again…

    • caitlinstern says:

      It’s more like two and a bit–the last, as I said, held one shelf from my bigger two.
      But it’s still a decent amount of books. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • moosha23 says:

        More than decent! Compared to my one (or maybe even half since only three and a half of the five shelves actually house books) your bookshelves are huge! Which is definitely a good thing! ๐Ÿ˜€

        • caitlinstern says:

          I can’t imagine what I’d do with only three and a half shelves!

          Okay, I’d have book piles everywhere.

          • moosha23 says:

            Yeah, you probably will…considering the mountain load of books you have! And they look pretty loved too, which is always a good thing!

  2. Marcia says:

    They look wonderful, Caitlin. And what a sense of accomplishment, too! Yay, you. I’m SO lucky in this house. The room the previous family used as a family room is my library, and I have floor to ceiling shelves pretty much all the way around. Some shelves are crammed full of books, but some have space for pretty bookends, vases, and other essentials, such as a life-sized Bob the Skull. ๐Ÿ˜€ But this is the first house I’ve ever lived in where I had this much room for books. Plus, I have an enormous (and DEEP, like 2′ deep) shelving unit in the room WE use as a family room, where the fireplace is. And Mark built us a headboard for our queen sized bed that is bookshelves to the ceiling, too. That one has a lot of his clock collection on it, though, and only a few books.

    But still, even with all these shelves, I’m always eyeing places where I think I could squeeze another one. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ Thank goodness for my Kindle. I have over 500 books on that, too. Can we say OCD, boys and girls? ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Doesn’t it feel wonderful to have clean bookshelves. I always feel at ease when mine are cleaned. My husband and I just bought a new bookshelf, so, I was ecstatic that I would be able to clean and reorganize my shelves again. Your bookshelves look wonderful!!!

    • caitlinstern says:

      New bookshelves are a wonderful thing.

      It’s always interesting to see how people organize, too–by genre, favorites, color, size… I’m fairly traditional, going for alphabetical–but if I had more space, I’d divide by genre, too.

What are your thoughts?

