This 8 sentence blog hop is hosted by The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link for the list of participants, or rules if you want to join!)

Shield of Namarr is a sword-and-sorcerer type fantasy WIP, set in a kingdom that suffers from magically-created, vicious creatures. Three friends have gone to a mage’s house to purchase a potion, and while the mage is cooking it, a fawn statue carries in a tray of refreshments. Shan has the last line: “How do you think…”

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge

The mage appeared around the corner again, carrying three small vials tucked like a fan between the left-hand fingers. “One for you, and you, and you–but eat something first, the potion makes an empty stomach a bit queasy.”

Something hissed loudly from down the hallway.

“I’ll be back in a moment,” The mage strolled away, humming, hands tangled in the floor-sweeping black robe.

The hissing sound grew louder, but the Stonespeller didn’t seem concerned, ambling around the corner, the little song trailing off down the hallway. Suddenly, the hissing noise and the humming plunged into silence.

Reagan pulled a grape and then another off the stem, making a neat line on the plate, ““Do you think everything’s okay?”

“I’m sure its fine,” Shan said, “Eat.”

*   *   *

Originally, Shield of Namarr was intended to be a very short snippet, but some things I wrote at the end raised some questions–which led to more story. I’m currently working on some world-building and character development so I can figure out where the story goes next.

Shan, Auber, and Reagan visit a Stonespeller, a mage who works mostly in animated stone, to buy a potion that will help them recover a lost stone, the Shield of Namarr, which powers a shield that keeps magically-created, dangerous creatures from entering the city they live in. Failure to return the Shield quickly will have deadly consequences for their friend,  Jamie, whose life-force is currently powering the shield-spell.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

34 responses »

  1. Gemma Parkes says:

    Exciting and intriguing snippet, great imagery!

  2. Shan is so cool about it all, I wonder what was the sound, it would make me jumpy.

    • caitlinstern says:

      I’m not certain–I didn’t write any more about it–but the mage isn’t concerned, so it could be something as simple as a magical teakettle.

      Or an angry snake-headed statue, you never know. Mage’s homes are strange. 😉

  3. Wonderful and with a sense of wonder. Love best is your imagination.

  4. Sarah Cass says:

    Still intrigued by the story and where you’ll go with it. Your world building is good…the mage is an odd creature as I’d expect 🙂

  5. alexissduran says:

    I love all the mysterious busy-ness. And I’m sure it’s not fine! Great snippet.

  6. evelynjules says:

    All the sounds and the senses just bring this story to life. Wonderful writing!

  7. Joyce says:

    Great snippet. The mage’s humming makes for an interesting contrast with the sound. Well done.

    http://joycelansky.blogspot.com/2014/08/weekend-writing-warriors-83.html

  8. I do love this world you’ve created and I SO want to visit this mage. Super snippet today!

  9. Frank Fisher says:

    This snippet is full of mystery. I was surprised that the hissing noise got louder, and then just disappear – I wasn’t expecting that. Good work!

  10. Sarah W says:

    Since I’m free to imagine it, I think the stone hydra and the stone firedrake were having a territorial dispute over a favored couch cushion in the parlor. 😀

    Keep going, Caitlin! This is great!

  11. Cara Bristol says:

    It all sounds very suspicious.

  12. I don’t like that hissing, and I had a feeling the three friends didn’t either.

  13. chellecordero says:

    The idea of the hissing and the humming suddenly going silent adds a good amount of tension to the scene. It really has me wondering

  14. Carrie-Anne says:

    Given the fantasy world, I’m wondering if those grapes are normal grapes, or if they’re going to turn the characters into magical creatures or put a spell on them!

  15. burnsmillie says:

    Eat the grapes??? Hmm, I wonder…Love it Caitlin!

What are your thoughts?

