This 8 sentence blog hop is hosted by The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link for the list of participants, or rules if you want to join!)

Shield of Namarr is a sword-and-sorcerer type fantasy WIP, set in a kingdom that suffers from magically-created, vicious creatures. Three friends have gone to a mage’s house to purchase a potion, a fawn statue carries in a tray of refreshments, and the mage returns with the potion, advising them to take it with food.

I skipped over their eating, and the mage returning and explaining the potion starts working immediately, lasts several days, and can be taken three times before ill side effects occur.

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge

Shan stared at the dose for a moment, then knocked it back in one gulp. Auber followed suit, and with a shrug, so did Reagan, and then Auber stood, pulled a pouch with the agreed upon price, and placed it on the counter.

Picking up the pouch, the Stonespeller poured out the coins and counted them, “Good luck.”

“Pardon?” Shan asked.

“I said good luck. It must be important, so I hope you find what you’ve lost.”

“Me, too,” Shan said, “Me, too.”

*   *   *

Originally, Shield of Namarr was intended to be a very short snippet, but some things I wrote at the end raised some questions–which led to more story. I’m currently working on some world-building and character development so I can figure out where the story goes next.

Shan, Auber, and Reagan visit a Stonespeller, a mage who works mostly in animated stone, to buy a potion that will help them recover a lost stone, the Shield of Namarr, which powers a shield that keeps magically-created, dangerous creatures from entering the city they live in. Failure to return the Shield quickly will have deadly consequences for their friend,  Jamie, whose life-force is currently powering the shield-spell.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

30 responses »

  1. Gemma Parkes says:

    Nice scene, well written.

  2. Sarah W says:

    This continues to be awesome, Caitlin, from premise to presentation. 🙂

    • caitlinstern says:

      Thank you! From here, I think I’m going to share a bit of the scene I’m working on right now, skipping over the ‘setting out’ bit and getting into the trek proper.

      There be monsters!

  3. I’m left wondering what just happened and worried it can’t be good. You’ve written a cliff hanger, Caitlin.

    • caitlinstern says:

      Sorry, I had to trim and squeeze to get this much into 8 sentences. Maybe something got lost, but nothing has really happened here other than they get their potion.

      And it will, I promise, work just fine. 🙂

  4. Carrie-Anne says:

    I hope the potion has the desired effect and that they don’t need to take it too many times!

    • caitlinstern says:

      I don’t think they can afford a second dose, and they definitely didn’t buy one. And they most certainly can’t take that long, without the consequences being dire for Jamie!

  5. They’re being very trusting.

    • caitlinstern says:

      People are being far more paranoid about what I envisioned as a fairly standard purchase. Or maybe I’m too trusting, too. 😉

      In this world, people buy potions and charms with fair regularity. If a mage’s potions don’t work, word would get around, I think.

  6. Hm, this sounds ominous to me 🙂 Can’t wait to see what their quest holds for them…good job!

  7. Gem says:

    Intriguing dialogue and interesting world. I’ll be back to read more.

  8. More please! No, not the potion LOL, the entire story! I’m really enjoying this. Great 8 as always!

    • caitlinstern says:

      For something that started as a tiny little snippet based on a dream, this story is completely getting away from me. Not quite sure where it’s going, but it’s certainly gathering momentum!

  9. Millie Burns says:

    You have me wondering what the deleterious effects will be if they have to take it more than three times : )

  10. chellecordero says:

    I am worried exactly what was in that potion and what the complete results of it will be. Good snippet.

    • caitlinstern says:

      I really couldn’t say exactly what was in the potion, since I didn’t make an ingredient list or anything. But it’s safe for human consumption–no eye of newt or anything.

      And it works, otherwise their adventure would end with them wandering around, lost, and getting eaten by something.

  11. Alexis Duran says:

    That “Good Luck” has me worried. He doesn’t sound too confidant. I’m with every one else- this story really has me hooked.

  12. Ooo, a ‘life-force is currently powering the shield-spell.’ That sounds cool! Great snippet.

  13. Shan seems very preoccupied.

    • caitlinstern says:

      I mentioned in a previous snippet that Shan and Jamie (the person who will die if the Shield is gone too long) are very close, so while the other two are worried, Shan is the most worried.

  14. Hm, I wonder if the mage knows more than he is letting on…engaging snippet as always;).

    • caitlinstern says:

      I don’t think so. The Stonespeller is only meant to be the potion-maker, and not going to show up again. But it’s always possible that I’ll change my mind as I write.

What are your thoughts?

