There are a bunch of Little Free Libraries in Austin,  impressive in their quantity and creative design. Here’s two of the ones I found on a recent trip.

tides LFL

A bright library, with plenty of colors, decorated with little sun-faded cardboard tiles that read ‘take one, bring one’ and ‘books’ around the door. Topped with a real book, sealed and painted as a decorative roof, which is definitely an original addition.

barn LFL

This is a fancier unpainted library, shaped like a barn with a metal roof, complete with doors and windows on the front and side. I also admire the stacked shelf system, allowing space for tall and shorter books. The ‘enjoy books’ on the post is a nice touch.

These two libraries are the ones I ultimately chose books from, a display of self-control for sure. When I’m finished reading, I plan to return them–or leave a different book–in another LFL. Might as well let the books travel a bit! 🙂

Sock monkey approved.

Sock monkey approved.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

6 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    This is such a clever idea. Been watching your posts on it, and I love the concept. I don’t think we have anything like this going on around here, at least I’ve never seen any. Wonder what would happen if I just started my own? 🙂 Thanks for sharing the pics, Caitlin. It’s rather inspiring.

    • caitlinstern says:

      Go for it! If you are, or know, a resonably handy person, it’s a box on a post with a plexiglass window–not too complicated to make.

      And the website has instructions for registering and adding your Library to their map so everyone can see it. The world can always use more free books!

  2. Amy Sachs says:

    I wish there were some of there close by me! These are so cute!

    • caitlinstern says:

      Have you checked the website’s map? I thought there weren’t any in my city, because I’d never seen any. Mostly, they’re in neighborhoods in someone’s front lawn, so you can easily miss them.

  3. These are a wonderful idea. They should have them everywhere. Reminds me of our own little book box at the train station 🙂

What are your thoughts?

