Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues

August 19: Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling You That You MUST Read (whether because they think it’s a “you” book or it’s just been generally recommended so often)

Boy Ive loved

1. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before; Jenny Han. I got this as a Goodreads friend recommendation, and I’ve seen it on the blogs. It looks like a cute romance, but I’ve seen a bunch of reviews that say it’s pointless and the narrator is vapid–there’s a fine line between fluff and a waste of time, in my opinion.

big little lies

2. Big Little Lies; Liane Moriarty. I’ve seen this a bunch of places online, and in stores–the cover is enticing. A mystery about a group of parents, and their kids–I like mysteries, but at 480 pages, this had better be a good one, as I’m pretty incapable of putting down a book without knowing whodunit.

delirium

3. Delirium; Lauren Oliver. This one keeps popping up online. A book about people who have the ability to love removed from them–but at a set time, which allows room for error. It could be amazing, but I’ve noticed that book 3 has noticeable lower reviews, and I’ve been burned by a poor trilogy end before.

frog music

4. Frog Music; Emma Donoghue. Another that’s all over the internet, and a few bloggers I like have recommended it, too. A French burlesque dancer trying to avenge her murdered friend? Sounds intriguing, but it doesn’t have what I consider good reviews.

goldfinch

5. The Goldfinch; Donna Tartt. This one keeps showing up on bestseller lists, but does not look like my kind of book. I think it’s stalking me. About a lost and lonely orphan–and I really can’t stand books that are sad. I’m okay with sad events, but when a books is overall sad, like a creeping fungus, it makes me sad. Seven hundred seventy one pages? That’s a lot of potential.

great expectations

6. Great Expectations; Charles Dickens. I’ve somehow managed to miss out on most of Dickens. I have to remedy that, but I’m pretty sure I’m not going to like this ending. And I always feel bad when I dislike classics–they get enough hate from school kids.

half bad

7. Half Bad; Sally Green. All over best of 2014 so far lists. A boy who’s descended from white witches and black witches, and has to choose his inheritance. Sounds fascinating, except I see a lot of reviews that say nothing much happens, and I have no patience for filler books.

hundred year old man

8. The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared; Jonas Jonasson. I’m mostly intrigued by this title. Exactly what the title says–I’m not sure it will live up to its hype, and some reviews say the humor might not be for me.

love letters dead

9. Love Letters to the Dead; Ava Dellaira. About an English assignment that gets away,with some great reviews, but I see a bunch of reviewers comparing the narrator unfavorably to Bella Swan. That makes me really leery.

rosie project

10. The Rosie Project; Graeme Simsion. This one has been showing up for a bit, and hasn’t gone away from lists. It seems like a cute story about a math-inclined man trying to figure out love in an equation, but some reviews talk about it stereotyping, making fun of its characters, and that the man is basically Sheldon from Big Bang Theory.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

9 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    I have to admit that Great Expectations and The Goldfinch are the only two of these I’ve heard of, and I’ve never read either. I’ve always loved books from earlier generations, and have read Hawthorne, Poe (of course), the Brontes, etc. But I have never gotten past the first page or two of any Dickens book. I’m not sure I want to use any of my remaining reading hours tackling Great Expectations, so I’ll leave that one to you. You can give me your take. 🙂 And I pretty much quit reading 800+ page books when I quit reading Stephen King. (Having given up on him with the ludicrous ending to the Dark Tower series). So I guess I’ll pass on The Goldfinch, especially since, like you, I hate sad books. For exactly the same reasons. Sad events, fine. Sad overall, just depressing, and offering no hope. Good list, though. I might have to take a look at some of the others, though I’m not sure any jump out at me as must-reads. If you tackle any, let me know what you think.

    • caitlinstern says:

      I might be convinced to read one or two (other than the Dickens, which I am determined to at least *try*), and I’ll let you know.

      But I’m long past reading books because they’re popular, so most of these I’ll be passing on, too.

  2. Mari says:

    I always keep getting drawn to the cover for Love Letters to the Dead. But then again, I’m mostly hesitant to read these books because they’re not usually what I tend to go for.

    I haven’t heard of The Hundred-Year-Old Man but it does sound interesting.

    • caitlinstern says:

      I’m in favor of trying outside the usual–I’ve discovered some genres I didn’t use to like, but do now, that way.

      And if it doesn’t appeal, you try something else. 🙂

  3. lynnsbooks says:

    I’ve also got Goldfinch and not read it! I think it’s just so daunting at the moment. And, I have the Hundred Year Old Man – again, keep putting it off! Must read them eventually – I did buy them after all.
    Lynn 😀

    • caitlinstern says:

      Ah, the reproachful pile of TBR books, looming on a shelf, judging you…

      Mine has ballooned recently, and I have far too little control when it comes to library books to work through them any time soon. I’m currently trying to accept them.

  4. moosha23 says:

    I’ve got to say that if you’re going to read The Rosie Project then you have to look forward to a cutesy romance. And humour. It’s fluff with a twist.

What are your thoughts?

