This 8 sentence blog hop is hosted by The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link for the list of participants, or rules if you want to join!)

Shield of Namarr is a sword-and-sorcerer type fantasy WIP, set in a kingdom that suffers from magically-created, vicious creatures. Three friends bought a finding-things-lost potion, and set out to track down a stolen magical stone–they have found a river they must cross, planning to go one at a time, with a rope tied around the waist of the second and third crossers in case they must be pulled to safety during a daggerfish attack.

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge

 

They rode back to the shallow area, where the river flowed sluggish and slow, the bottom clearly visible, but farther past, where it was harder to see, it appeared deeper, shading from a pale muddy blue to a deeper and darker color.

“Who goes first–without the rope?” Shan asked.

“I will,” Auber’s answer ran over the end of Shan’s question.

“We need the person on the shore to be able to patch up anyone who’s attacked,” Shan argued, “I can do that better than you, Auber. I’ll go first.”

“No, if we need a medic, that’s me,” Reagan said, “You go second.”

Auber’s grey eyes narrowed, and then widened as an innocent expression took over the fighter’s face, “Fair enough, I’ll go last.”

*   *   *

Originally, Shield of Namarr was intended to be a very short snippet, but some things I wrote at the end raised some questions–which led to more story. I’m currently working on some world-building and character development so I can figure out where the story goes next.

Shan, Auber, and Reagan visit a Stonespeller, a mage who works mostly in animated stone, to buy a potion that will help them recover a lost stone, the Shield of Namarr, which powers a shield that keeps magically-created, dangerous creatures from entering the city they live in. Failure to return the Shield quickly will have deadly consequences for their friend,  Jamie, whose life-force is currently powering the shield-spell.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

26 responses »

  1. Juneta says:

    I love fantasy. Sounds like interesting story with lots of fun adventure. Happy Writing
    Juneta at Writer’s Gambit

  2. Love this snippet. You set the scene with colors of the river. I’m on the shore fearful for the travelers and with good reason. The dialogue is right on . Amazing, my friend. Thanks.

  3. P.S. I have bookmarks for each of my books with a blurb. Want one or two? I can send.

  4. Frank Fisher says:

    I’d hate to be Auber – the ones who go last usually meet a demise. I hope I’m wrong with this. Nice descriptions of the colors of the river.

    • caitlinstern says:

      That’s why Auber stopped complaining–figuring that last was most dangerous, as the splashing could attract predators. But Auber is the toughest and best trained of the group, too.

  5. Hmm, wonder what Auber’s thinking. I loved the description of the river! Great 8…

  6. Botanist says:

    Great dialogue, each one trying to present the best argument for going first…

  7. Sarah W says:

    Auber is planning something . . . This should be good! 😀

  8. chellecordero says:

    I’m scared for their well-being.Sure hope that each of them make it across without harm. Very tense. Great 8.

  9. Great description and strong exchange between the characters.
    I am a little confused. Why is the first person going without the rope? Would the other two not want to be able to pull him back if the daggerfish attack? Once he’s on the other side that person can pull from there. And how will they get the horses across if they get attacked?
    You may have explained these details outside of the snippets, so just ignore me if you have;).

    • caitlinstern says:

      No, I didn’t explain, though maybe I should… hmm…

      Basically, they’re taking a calculated risk. The river might be safe, but they need to get to the other side as quick as possible, not end up back where they started.

      And they’re riding the horses across.

  10. Millie Burns says:

    I love how they’re sort of jostling for position. And, I’m curious to see what will happen next!

  11. Why volunteer to go last – Hmm???
    Tweeted.

    • caitlinstern says:

      Because Auber had an idea–out of the group, the fighter has probably the best practical wilderness experience. Reagan knows herbs and the like, but hasn’t done too much outdoorsy stuff.

  12. Carrie-Anne says:

    I’d prefer to be the one in the middle, just in case something bad befalls the ones on the outside.

    • caitlinstern says:

      They’re not crossing all together, but one at a time. Though all together might be safer because it’s faster and has less time to attract a daggerfish, I don’t know how they could rescue someone who was attacked if they’re all in the water.

What are your thoughts?

