Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues purple flowers

August 26: Top Ten Books I Really Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet

I’m going for already published books here, that I intend to buy someday, and read soon.

cast in flame

1. Cast in Flame; Michelle Sagara. Part of an ongoing series I really enjoy, but have read from the library, though I definitely want them on my shelves someday. About one very put-upon city guard, and her dragon roommate.

cobweb empire

2. Cobweb Empire; Vera Nazarian. Book 2 of a series that had the first book free. Death has decreed no one will die until he gets his Cobweb Bride, and one rejected potential Bride is determined to find the right one–but other people are determined to see she doesn’t succeed.

conspiracy

3. Conspiracy; Lindsay Buroker. Book 4 of a series that I can’t find at the library, and so will have to wait to read until I buy it… and then the other 4 books. A group of misfits trying to win imperial pardons, without too much success.

islands rage hope

4. Islands of Rage and Hope; John Ringo. The most recent book in a surprisingly realistic zombie book–the virus is more like rabies, they aren’t actually dead, only less intelligent and very hungry. Well developed military system, and a great deal of funny moments.

lady resources

5. A Lady of Resources; Shelley Adina. Another part of a series that I have some of the books. Steampunk! Inventions!

prince of shadows

6. Prince of Shadows; Rachel Caine. An author I like, and a dark and interesting version of Romeo and Juliet, focusing on the power plays of the families. Sounds interesting enough to own.

lady faire

7. Property of a Lady Faire; Simon R. Green. The most recent book in a series I own some of, about magic and a pretty scary family policing the world. Dark and funny–my kind of book.

rebel

8. Rebel; Amy Tintera. I must know what happens to the reboots! Die, come back, and be turned into a soldier for the government.

skin game

9. Skin Game; Jim Butcher. I can’t believe I haven’t read this book yet, I adore the series so much. But I’ve sworn I won’t buy it until I catch up with books I already have bought/checked out. Harry Dresden, wizard is going to have a tough time in this book for sure!

top secret 21

10. Top Secret Twenty-One; Janet Evanovich. This comes in a close second on the improbability scale, and will be gotten right after Skin Games, for sure. Stephanie’s wacky adventures in bond recovery are, let’s face it, a little repetitious–but still funny.

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

15 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    I swear, I would SEND you Skin Game, if I thought you’d actually stop what you’re reading now and read IT. OMG. It is just so damn good, and yeah, really bad things happen, but so do really, REALLY good ones. Read. Faster. I can’t wait to see what you think. I love Simon R. Green, btw, but haven’t read this one yet. I’m a book or two behind on the Nightside series, and need to catch up with that weird little world.

    • caitlinstern says:

      I’m going to read it soon, I promise! Just as I was caught up, I got six new books from the library, but I’m almost caught up again.

      The Secret History books have a similar feel to the Nightside–it’s set in more varied locations, but weird is still there. 🙂

      • Marcia says:

        The Nightside books have made me laugh so often…they have such weird and creepy stuff going on, but in spite of it all, they are really funny, a lot of the time. My favorite character is definitely Dead Boy. I’ll have to get started on this new series. I have a book of his about ghost hunters, but I can’t remember if I read it yet. (Not a good sign).

        And Harry Dresden RULES. Above and beyond every other series out there, my mind. Read like the wind, Caitlin. I’m having a procedure done Thursday, and I’m supposed to take it easy that night, so I think I’m finally going to work up the courage to start Magic Breaks. (Not really looking forward to seeing the Magic actually break, but I’m going to trust Ilona Andrews to make it work.) Will let you know what I think when I finish it.

        • caitlinstern says:

          I think you have the wrong idea of what the title means… The basic magic/tech mix doesn’t change.

          • Marcia says:

            Ah. So if that doesn’t “break,” and Kate & Curran don’t “break,” then the break is to do with his position as beast lord? Something has to break. *scratching head, here* You are going to force me to read this, and if I’m crying and screaming at the end of it, I’m COMING FOR YOU! Be afraid. Be very afraid. 🙂

          • caitlinstern says:

            Maybe it’s ‘break’ as in ‘break free?’ I confess I don’t put as much thought into title meaning as you seem to do.

          • Marcia says:

            I don’t with all books, but this one just seemed to have some kind of heavy portent behind it. I felt like it was leading us somewhere. But who knows. Maybe it was just the winner of the short straw title lottery. 🙂 After you reassured me via email the other day, I haven’t been unduly worried. I am finishing up a little freebie fantasy right now, and I’ll start MB next. Then I’ll see if the title makes sense to me or not. Now…”breaking free” makes me think of Kate’s father. And a few other things, too. So many possibilities, and the truth might not be any of them. 😀

  2. lynnsbooks says:

    Liking the sound of Simon Green – dark and funny! win/win
    Lynn 😀

    • caitlinstern says:

      He’s got three dark and funny series, with a wise cracking male lead and his seriously dangerous lady.

      Nightside is a UF set in a dark and dangerous magical city, with PI John Taylor trying to help the lost.
      Secret Histories is set in the same world–Eddie Drood, who’s more of an enforcer, even goes to the Nightside once–about a whole family of magically powered and kind of crazy protectors.
      Hawk & Fisher are Fantasy, about a husband and wife city guard team, in the corrupt city of Haven.

      All of them have plenty of snark and jokes tossed in. 😉

      • Marcia says:

        I’ve only read the Nightside, and one Drood book, but I can definitely attest to the snark. The Nightside just cracks me up, and it’s such an awful place, to be so funny. I dearly love it, and I’m not sure why I’ve missed the last 2 books. Gotta correct that.

  3. Mari says:

    I have to reacquaint myself with the Dresden Files, because I’ve only read the first book! Also have Michelle Sagara on my list of authors to try out.

What are your thoughts?

