There are a bunch of Little Free Libraries in Austin. Here’s some of the ones I found on a recent trip.

 

Diamond LFL

 

I especially liked the bright sunny colors of this one, which coordinated with the wall next to it. With plenty of tile accents and hand-painted details, this is a Little Free Library someone put some effort into.

stump LFL

 

A simple white-painted construction, accessorized with a tree stump and solar light, in case you want to do some late night browsing, perhaps. It also has the three-division set-up I admired in another Library, so there’s plenty of shelf space.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

2 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    I’m so impressed with how well this concept has gone over in your area, Caitlin. I have never seen even one of these around here, and I’m pretty observant of yard things, because I’m always looking at gardens. It’s wonderful to see all the fun designs, too. Thanks for sharing. BTW…have to email you about The Winter Long. I finished it, danced around and around the room, then re-read the last bit, and started dancing again. I was NOT expecting that! 😀

    • caitlinstern says:

      Austin is the Texas capital of the artsy and weird, and even though my home city is much larger than it, there’s still about three times the number of LFL there.

      There are several in Florida, but you’d have to check the map to see if there’s any near you. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

