Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues sunset2

September 16: Top Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But NEED to Read More

(I’m going to have to stretch this to one or two books, because I have a tendency to seek out more books by an author I find I love pretty quickly.)

something real

1. Heather Demetrios. I found the characters in Something Real interesting, and the idea of the book appealed to me, so I’m eager to give another book by this author a shot–even though it will have to be a different stand-alone, or series.

angelfall

2. Susan Ee. I read Angelfall, and bought the second book some time ago, but I haven’t read it, even though I was really excited to get it. The first one was a little hard on my heart, and I’m worried about the second–also, there’s going to be several more. Maybe I’ll wait until more of them are out.

bring the fire

3. C. Gockel. This is entirely due to a freebie story about Loki, where he’s kind of the good guy–or at least misunderstood and mistreated–and there’s several more I really want to read.

johannes cabal

4. Jonathan L. Howard. I’ve read two of the Johannes Cabal books, and now really want to read the fourth one. I still need to read the first, as well, but I’m more curious about what happens next.

interrogation ashala

5. Ambelin Kwaymullina. I finally got my hands on The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf, two years after it came out in Australia. I will likley have similar waits for the other books in the series, but it was so good I remain hopeful.

Let's Pretend

6. Jenny Lawson (The Bloggess). She’s only published one book, but she promises she’s working on a second, and I really wish she was done with it so I could read it.

Dead Spot

7. Melissa F. Olson. I’ve read two books in a series about a null who does clean-up for magical creatures, which is continuing–and there’s another mysteries series that looks promising, too.

Dead Isle

8. Sam Starbuck. I read two free and excellent ebooks, and have bookmarked a couple more that look interesting. I just have to find the time to get to them…

scorpio races

9. Maggie Stiefvater. I have no excuse for this one, she’s been recommended to me forever, and I even have a trilogy by her waiting on my Kindle. The only book I’ve read so far was a gift from someone.

house on tradd

10. Karen White. I read The House on Tradd Street, and am pretty curious about the rest of the books from that series.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

3 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    I’m with you on three of these, for sure. I loved Angelfall, and have the 2nd one, but somehow it’s buried in The Virtual Pile. 😦 And I think I know where you got The Scorpio Races (haha), so I’m with you on that, except that I HAVE read other books by her, including the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy, which is quite good. But Scorpio blew my mind, and she is hitting her stride in The Raven Boys. I’m re-reading #1 to refresh my memory on some tricky plot details, and to be in the ZONE when I start #2, and I have to say it’s very different reading it now, after having written a book or two, myself. I thought her writing was beautiful before, but I’m seeing things in this book that just leap out at me as sheer genius. I think Maggie Stiefvater could grow into a true literary power, and not only in the popular YA genre. Don’t get me wrong, I love that genre, but I’m talking Literary Greats, here. Her gift isn’t just in her plots, which are darn good, but in her words, which are so good they make my teeth hurt with the desire to be able to write like that.

    And last, Karen White. I’ve read two books by her that I loved, but haven’t read Tradd Street yet, and I need to. I think she’s a fine writer, with attention to daily detail that I enjoy. And her books have been known to make me cry, which is always a good sign. I definitely need to read more, including Tradd.

    The rest are new to me, but I’m taking note. I love Top Ten Tuesdays!! (And I know, I know…I need to do it. I swear, if I ever have ten minutes of breathing space, I’m going to “sign up.” Yours are always so interesting. I need t make time for it!)

  2. BringMyBooks says:

    A lot of authors on this list are new to me, but I do see some I recognize … Maggie Stiefvater and Karen White in particular!

    I’ve had Stiefvater on my list for a while, I especially want to pick up Raven Boys because it’s based in VA and I’ve been told by friends that I might recognize some of the landmarks! It’s always fun to have a more personal connection to a story.

    I’ve read a few of Karen White’s books, and I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with her. They always seem to have such promise but then I’m ultimately let down. I really want to read more of her recent books, because they did start to get better as she kept writing. I just love her story lines so much, I want the writing to deliver! (I haven’t tried House on Tradd Street though, maybe I should give that one a try next!)

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, Caitlin!! Much appreciated 🙂

What are your thoughts?

