Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues flowers

September 23: Top Ten Books On My Fall To-Be-Read list.

Fall starts September 22 and ends December 20, so I’m choosing books that come out between those dates, which I’ll hope I get to read in the Fall.

brothes cabal

1. The Brothers Cabal; Jonathan L. Howard. The last book ended with quite a cliffhanger, and though I can guess what it will be, I’m quite eager to see what Necromancer Johannes Cabal will do next.

broken soul

2. Broken Soul; Faith Hunter. Vampires and werewolves and plenty of danger.

foxglove summer

3. Foxglove Summer; Ben Aaronovitch. Another book following a cliffhanger, and poor beleaguered detectives still have to keep the peace between humans and supernatural.

future falls

4. The Future Falls; Tanya Huff. Another adventure with the Gale family, with their special women and strange magics.

mortal heart

5. Mortal Heart; Robin LaFevers. Assassins descended from Death, given special abilities by that inheritance–and Annith isn’t willing to be locked away for her abilities, but she might not be able to escape her fate.

poison fruit

6. Poison Fruit; Jaqueline Carey. It’s tough being an agent of Hel (Norse goddess), but someone has to keep the underworld from the rest of the humans.

queen zombie hearts

7. Queen of Zombie Hearts; Gena Showalter. The last book in a series about zombie ghosts, and an Alice in Wonderland vibe.

ravencliffe

8. Ravencliffe; Carol Goodman. Young women trained to fight the forces of darkness–but there’s darkness inside the school, and sacrifices will have to be made to defeat it.

seventh grave

9. Seventh Grave and No Body; Darynda Jones. Charley has a lot of problems–as a grim reaper, who helps souls pass on, she’s used to that–but the problems are especially piling up.

(No cover yet.)

10. Thorn of Emberlain; Scott Lynch. Gentleman Bastards–need I say more?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

9 responses »

  1. I have Grave Mercy on my TBR list – those books sound so good and the covers for them (especially Mortal Heart) are stunning.

    • caitlinstern says:

      They’re pretty spectacular–each one follows a different daughter of Death, and you get to see the characters you fell in love with in the first book in the following ones, too. Hope you enjoy reading it! 🙂

  2. lynnsbooks says:

    No.10 – nope, you need say no more!
    Lynn 😀

  3. Nathan says:

    Someone else that has read the Cabal books? I thought I was the only one; or at least it feels that way at times.

  4. Vanessa says:

    What a great list! The Necromancer has been on my must-read list for a long time and I’ve always wanted to get my hands on it – it sounds amazing. Ditto to the first Alice in Wonderland meets zombies books. And His Fair Assassin trilogy is perfection (even though I’ve only read the first book).

What are your thoughts?

