I went to another book signing in Austin, with Ilona Andrews and Jeaniene Frost.

Ah, Austin. Stay weird.

Ah, Austin. Stay weird.

Gordon and Ilona talked mostly about their book coming out soon, Burn for Me, and Jeaniene about her new series starting with Beautiful Ashes.

IMG_3941

New Frost book, a gift to mail to my friend, and new shiny anthology ARC.

I’m really looking forward to reading the Frost book, which sounds as if it will be the beginning of an interesting world–angels and demons and plenty of danger.

I’ve read a few online snippets of the Andrews book, which is about families with magical legacies, made extra influential by the power passed down through the generations. And I can already see the snark I admire so much will be in this new heroine, too.

And Gordon and Ilona gave away six ARCs, four of the anthology Night Shift, two of Burn for Me. And I won one! So I’ll be reading that Jim and Dali short story the authors promised everyone soon.

The weather was rainy, with everyone’s phones blaring  a flood warning before the signing started, but we were all safe and dry in the building, and happily comparing notes on favorite Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance/Fantasy writers we thought other people might like.

You know how it goes–“oh, you like this author? Have you read this series?”

It’s always nice to be surrounded by readers, especially readers who have similar tastes.

Slightly blurry picture of Gordon, Ilona, me, and Jeaniene.

Slightly blurry picture of Gordon, Ilona, me, and Jeaniene.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

2 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    My collection of photos of you with famous writers is growing! And what the heck? TWO book signings in Texas for Ilona & Gordon, and NONE in Florida? What’s up with that? I would SO travel up or down the state to see them! Sounds like so much fun, I did see Jeaniene in Ft. Myers last year, and she was very nice, and funny, too. But that’s it. Why don’t these writers want to come to Florida? Do they think we don’t READ down here? 😦

    Congratulations on winning the books, and on being able to go to yet another fun book event. I’m so jealous, but I don’t begrudge you the fun at all. You deserve it. I just wish I could go, too. *sniff* Maybe someday…..

    • caitlinstern says:

      I think the problem is that they live in Texas. Considering their tour only hit four other states, it’s not surprising Florida didn’t make it. Maybe the next one. *fingers crossed*

      But there have to be a few great authors who live in or near Florida that you get to see more often, too.

What are your thoughts?

