Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues flowers

October 28: Top Ten Books/Movies To Read Or Watch To Get In The Halloween Spirit OR Top Ten Characters Who I Would Totally Want To Be For Halloween

I liked both of these, so I split it between them.

Books to Read

complete EA Poe

1. Anything by Edgar Allen Poe. Any writer so seriously into creepy events as Poe is a must-read for Halloween. Revenge, death, torture… and talking ravens. Nevermore!

Dracula

2. Dracula; Bram Stoker. The classic vampire, dangerous, and no sparkling.

frankenstein

3. Frankenstein; Mary Shelley. Written by the mother of monsters herself. And a thoughtful, interesting book about hope and revenge.

grave sight

4. Grave Sight; Charlaine Harris. The first book in a series about someone who can find the dead. Which means the book spends a lot of time in graveyards.

graveyard book

5. The Graveyard Book; Neil Gaiman. A boy raised in a graveyard by ghosts, and some seriously spooky bad guys.

Characters to Be

arthur2

6. Arthur Dent. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. Put on a bathrobe, carry a towel, wear a perpetually confused expression, and you have him down. Also, you suddenly know the answer to the life, the universe, and everything.

JENNIFER EHLE

7. Elizabeth Bennet. Pride and Prejudice; Jane Austen. A lovely, long, flowing dress is always fun. And it’s a great excuse to carry around a book.

hermione granger

8. Hermione Granger. Harry Potter; J.K. Rowling. Everybody admires a smart girl. One who can cast magic spells? Even better.

inigo1

9. Inigo Montoya. The Princess Bride; William Goldman. You killed his father. Prepare to die!

susan sto helit

10. Susan Sto Helit. Discworld; Terry Pratchett. Susan is the kind of practical we should all aspire to be. Also, her reverse Bride-of-Frankenstein(‘s Monster) hair is awesome.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

10 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    Finally! A post where I’ve actually READ all of the books you mentioned!! 😀 And great Halloween choices they are, too, especially Dracula and anything written by POE! Love your costume choices, too. Fun post, Caitlin!

    • caitlinstern says:

      Nothing like the classics for Halloween. Also, the amount of horror I read is really small. I’m a wuss when it comes to that kind of thing–I was traumatized as a child by this book, Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark, which has these illustrations… *shudder*

  2. Mari says:

    42! I can’t believe I forgot Arthur Dent! He’d be a great excuse to come in to work one day decked in a bathrobe with a towel, lool.

  3. Inigo Montoya gets my vote!

  4. Letizia says:

    Great list of books! And I love the costume ideas – I wish I had the courage to wear one to work, but I think I would frighten my students (and not in a spooky way, but in a cooky way!).

  5. lynnsbooks says:

    Yes! Read 9 out of 10 of your choices this week. Nice to see Arthur on here.
    Lynn 😀

What are your thoughts?

