Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesbookcase

November 4: Top Ten Books I Want To Reread (or if you don’t reread…would reread in an ideal world)

I do reread, a lot, so this one was just a question of narrowing it down.

count of monte

1. The Count of Monte Cristo; Alexandre Dumas. There are some beautiful Penguin hardcovers of classic books, so I have a list of books to read to see if I want them. I’m not quite such a book collector that I’ll buy a book only for it’s pretty cover. I’ve read this one years ago, but I can’t recall if I liked it or not.

Tinker

2. Elfhome Series; Wen Spencer. This series is up to four books. I have reread the first two so many times over the years, but haven’t yet reread the two newest ones, because there’s a pretty big gap in those publication dates.

fiendish

3. Fiendish; Brenna Yovanoff. Every one of her books I’ve read is wonderful and strange, and well worth the revisit, but I think this might be my favorite.

Let's Pretend

4. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened; Jenny Lawson. It’s a great book for a laugh, and to make you feel like you’re not alone in your strangeness. Whatever weird you have, The Bloggess gets it.

lies of locke

5. Lies of Locke Lamora; Scott Lynch. It’s been a few years since I first met the Gentleman Bastards, it would be fun to start again from the beginning, especially since it feels like forever until the next one.

pride and prejudice

6. Pride & Prejudice; Jane Austen. It is a truth universally acknowledged that I will reread this book once or twice a year, probably for the rest of my life. Unless I get tired of Lizzy and Darcy, which seems unlikely.

S

7. S., J.J. Abrams. A complicated story within story book, with supplemental notes, faxes, and letters tucked into the pages, I’m sure I’d find more details with a reread.

station eleven

8. Station Eleven; Emily St. John Mandel. It hasn’t been so long since I read this book, but it’s certainly one I will reread, for all it’s lovely phrases, and the slow unfolding of the end of the world.

Stranger in a Strange Land

9. Stranger in a Strange Land; Robert Heinlein. I went flipping through my shelves looking for a book with a good first sentence of the last chapter (because of a blog post), and discovered my fondness for fantasy and science fiction doesn’t lend itself to that exercise. But this was the book I found a good example from.

Silvered

10. The Silvered; Tanya Huff. I love everything by this author, and have reread several of her series, but this is a stand alone, and so perfect for a reread.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

9 responses »

  1. lynnsbooks says:

    So many on here that I love. I must check out Tanya Huff. I’m sure you’ve probably already said she’s a good read – but, if I don’t write it down a forget!
    Lynn 😀

    • caitlinstern says:

      Oh, yes, she’s one of my favorites. You should definitely write her name down. She’s got several classic fantasy worlds, a vampire urban fantasy, a magically talented family series, and a kick-@ss space marine science fiction. So many choices!

  2. mrshbookworm says:

    I’d never head of S but I’m really intrigued now and am going to try and search it out.

    • caitlinstern says:

      It’s definitely a book nerd kind of book–it’s an analysis of a writer’s work, and two people are passing the book back and forth, writing notes to each other in the margins. So many layers! 🙂

  3. Erica says:

    Pride & Prejudice is an amazing book, though I have not read many of these books, I think they are all interesting summaries!
    See my Top Ten, http://Books4ev.blogspot.com !!

  4. I’ve loved Brenna Yovanoff’s books as well. I haven’t read Fiendish yet, but so glad to hear it is one of your favorites. I bought a copy so I can get her autograph next week when she is in my town. Great list!
    Check out my Top 10

  5. kateposeyphd says:

    I’m excited to see Station Eleven on your list because I have the book but haven’t started it yet. I’ve heard so many good things about it. And yes, Pride and Prejudice!! This is one I love to re-read too–soooo good!

    • caitlinstern says:

      It really has some beautiful phrases in it–the kind that catch your eye if you’re a word nerd, and have you repeating them to yourself.

      And it’s an excellent end-of-the-world kind of book, with layers of action, secrets, interesting characters… Hope you enjoy it!

What are your thoughts?

