Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesday3

November 11: Top Ten Characters You Wish Would Get Their OWN Book (minor or just maybe a semi main character you wish a book was from their POV)

This one was difficult for some reason, as most narrators have a good reason for being front and center, and many secondary characters don’t have as much to say. Though I don’t usually give up until I get ten, NaNo is a demanding beast.

going postal

1. Adora Belle “Spike” Dearheart. Discworld; Terry Pratchett. Clacks owner, equal opportunity employer, Spike takes no nonsense, and puts up with her conman husband quite well, reining in the worst of his excesses.

Print

2. Lord Alkedama/Biff. Parasol Protectorate; Gail Carriger. There’s quite a few interesting secondary characters in these books, but two of my favorites are the scary and fashionable vampire and the reluctant but effective werewolf.

magic bites

3. Dali. Kate Daniels; Ilona Andrews. The short story we got from Dali’s POV just made me want more. She leads an interesting life–a vegetarian weretiger with magical powers? How can you not want to know more?

pride and prejudice

4. Jane. Pride & Prejudice; Jane Austen. Anyone who has read much of this blog knows I have a slight P&P problem. I have read so many spin-offs, sequels, and adaptations… but they tend to focus on Darcy, Kitty, Lydia, or even Mary. I haven’t seen many about sweet, dear Jane. She has a story too, though.

goblin emperor

5. Maia’s fiance. Goblin Emperor; Katherine Addison. I can’t for the life of me find or recall her name, but Maia’s fiance seems like an interesting character, and you don’t get to see much of her.

Chimes midnight

6. Tybalt, King of Cats. October Daye; Seanan McGuire. He’s been with Toby since the beginning, pretty much, and her story must look very different through his eyes.

Tinker

7. Wolf Who Rules. Elfhome; Wen Spencer. As the elven viceroy of Pittsburgh, which is sometimes on Earth and sometimes on Elfhome, Wolf Who Rules must have so many stories to tell.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

10 responses »

  1. Maureen Eichner says:

    I would love anything set in Maia’s world! I agree, though, his fiance was very intriguing.

    • caitlinstern says:

      I got to the end of the book, and immediately hoped there would be more. But judging from her comment on her Goodreads Ask the Author “I will be happy to answer questions about The Goblin Emperor–including pronunciation! (Just please don’t ask me if there will be a sequel.)”… I hope in vain.

  2. mrshbookworm says:

    A Jane spin-off would be sweet too!

  3. Mari says:

    Discworld has so many characters I’d want having main stories of. Adora is probably one of them, and then CMOT Dibbler most definitely, lol. I haven’t got to Biff, I don’t think (I don’t remember if he shows up in Soulless), but Akeldama is certainly an interesting enough character to warrant his own spinoff!

    • caitlinstern says:

      Right? Pratchett makes hilarious characters–I remember reading an interview where he said Death was supposed to be only a minor character. So glad that didn’t last!

      Biff is one of Akeldama’s lovely young men, and I’m pretty sure he’s in Soulless, but I don’t remember when he’s first named.

  4. lynnsbooks says:

    I liked Lord Alkedama too! Nice picks.
    Lynn 😀

  5. Marcia says:

    I vote for Lord Alkedama, too, otherwise, I’m pretty much finished with the series. Don’t care for the current spinoff, but I would read Lord A’s story. He reminds me of Prince Poppycock on AGT.

    Having said THAT, the one I would most love is Tybalt. I would go along with the King of Cats on any journey, anywhere. I’ve loved him since Book 1 of Toby’s series, when she still thought they were enemies. Everything about him draws me in, and it would be so much fun to see what’s inside HIS mind.

    Fun post, as always, Caitlin. I look forward to Tuesday, and I’m still going to do this one day. But if I add another single thought to my overtaxed brain right now, it will surely self-combust. 🙂

  6. samoak says:

    Nice picks! I’m also glad to see that I’m not the only one who couldn’t come up with a list of 10 characters for their picks.

What are your thoughts?

