Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues

November 18: Top Ten Sequels I Can’t Wait To Get

A few of these don’t have covers yet, so no pictures.

1. Cast in Honor; Michelle Sagara. (Chronicles of Elantra #11) Even after this many books, each one still leaves me wanting to know what happens next. The last book didn’t exactly end with a cliffhanger, but it had some problems resolved and one looming. And I must know how it ends!

end of days

2. End of Days; Susan Ee. (Penryn & The End of Days #3) I haven’t read book 2, because book 1 had an end that made me want track down the author and shake her. I rather want the end of the trilogy purchased, in case 2 gives me that same feeling.

firefight

3. Firefight; Brandon Sanderson. (Reckoners #2) There are no superheroes–super powers make you evil! I must know how and why that works, as it’s an interesting concept, and the reasons are hinted at in the first book.

4. Harbinger; Wen Spencer. (Elfhome #5) I just adore this world, especially Tinker, who is in books 1 and 2, but not as much in the others. And I have high hopes of her being in this one, more.

hunters trail

5. Hunter’s Trail; Melissa Olson. (Scarlett Bernard #3) A magical null, who’s just revealed powers she probably shouldn’t have. The supernatural community is all shaken up–this book will show the results.

low midnight

6. Low Midnight; Carrie Vaughn. (Kitty Norville #13) Werewolf radio host named Kitty has kept me entertained for all these books. This one is going to deal with Cormac, who has a spirit in his head because… well, it’s complicated.

magic shifts

7. Magic Shifts; Ilona Andrews. (Kate Daniels #8) Big things happened in the last book. I can’t wait to see where it goes next. The authors haven’t let me down on anything I’ve read by them, so far.

plunder of souls

8. A Plunder of Souls; D.B. Jackson. (Thieftaker Chronicles #3) Why does my library not have this book? It’s been out for a while! Historical fiction, well-written, with an interesting lead character.

vision in silver

9. Vision in Silver; Anne Bishop (The Others #3) I just love the world these books are set in so much. Humans and Others don’t really get along, there’s no romanticizing it–Others are predators. And that’s okay.

10. Winter; Marissa Meyer. (Lunar Chronicles #4) This one looks to be the end. I really want to see if the good guys can pull together a bad situation, because this series’ villain needs to be taken down.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

8 responses »

  1. I haven’t read any of these series, but “Werewolf radio host”? I’ve got to say that that sounds pretty darn cool.
    My TTT

  2. lynnsbooks says:

    I literally haven’t read any of these!! Although I just bought an Ilona Andrews book called Burn for Me. Think it’s a new series. Have you read that one?
    Lynn 😀

    • caitlinstern says:

      Oh, yes. I pre-ordered it and got it signed and read it ASAP. I’m a big Ilona Andrews fan, and really lucky that they happen to live (the Texas version of) fairly close to me.

      If you like Burn for Me, you’ll probably like Kate–there’s some similarities in protagonist type, magic and technology mixed world, and general bad@ssery.

  3. samoak says:

    Ditto on the Ilona Andrews! Love their books.

    • caitlinstern says:

      It’s mostly the snark that makes me happy. I love a book with good action and interesting characters–but for me to make it a favorite, it has to make me laugh, too. Ilona and Gordon are great at that.

What are your thoughts?

