A generous portion of my library–and my birthday gifts–are electronic, and so not pictured.

2014 bday books

My physical haul includes a library card t-shirt (remember those? I miss them) and a banned books notebook from Out of Print. (Visit the site at your own risk, they have so many tempting items there.)

I also got three books I wanted, including the exceptionally lovely Penguin hardcover classic, which I’m starting a collection of. These are cloth bound hardbacks, printed with images–the picture is a bit dark, but Treasure Island has parrots. I’m resisting the pretty covers to the level of only getting the books I like. Which means I have a few I know I want–like the adventures of young Hawkins–and a few I know I don’t, and a dozen I need to read. Because my TBR list isn’t long enough.

And some chocolate, because you need something to eat while reading your books.

bday journal

On a separate day, I received this lovely journal and some pens. I already have, to be honest, more of a journal collection than I need. Most of my writing is done on the computer, but… They are pretty enough to tempt me. I just have to keep writing!

There’s just something about getting a book as a gift, isn’t there? It makes me happy. I can’t decide which is better, a book or a bookstore gift card. One has immediate gratification, the other lets you go browse. What do you think?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

6 responses »

  1. moosha23 says:

    Happy Birthday!
    For special personal celebrations I like getting actual books 😀 It’s like someone’s giving me a part of themselves that they think I’d enjoy reading…it’s more intimate than a gift card in my opinion. But for other sorts of celebratory occasions like when people give chocs, flowers, and other less personalised gifts I would love a gift card…it’s just another token saying, “hey, here’s a piece of indulgence, go for it!”
    That journal looks absolutely beautiful (and yeah, that t shirt is preserving an endangered resource!)

  2. Sarah W says:

    Happy extremely belated birthday, caitlin!

    (my wordpress reader won’t work on my home computer any more, so I’m playing catch up!)

  3. Bookgirl says:

    What a great birthday haul. My hubby is busily wrapping the five books I bought, from him, for Christmas. At least i get what i want ha-ha.

What are your thoughts?

