nanowrimo 2014

NaNoWriMo is almost over. This post is an hour before midnight (where I am, at least) on the penultimate day of this crazy writing marathon. By the time you read this, it may even be the last day.

You have until midnight on the 30th to type or write furiously and eke out whatever last words you can.

But by today, one hour before the word count resets to zero, you know pretty much where you are. If you have somewhere in the range of 1 to 2 thousand words left, and you’ve had several days where you’ve reached that number, you’re golden. One more day and you’re done.

50,000 words and all the bragging rights–and a t-shirt, have you seen the t-shirts? Sooo pretty!–are yours.

And if you’re close to that goal, say 3 or 4 thousand, you can make it. Heck, fueled by determination and a great deal of caffeine, a larger number is certainly possible.

Some of you, I know, because I’ve read your blogs with envy and awe, passed 50,000 words somewhere mid-November. Others of you made it last week, or in the past couple of days. I salute you all, mighty wordsmiths and overachievers.

(I just scraped over 50,000 right before midnight on the 28th, so I’m fairly pleased with myself, though there’s still a decent chunk of my story left to write.)

For the rest of us… write! Write like the hounds of editing are after you, with jagged red pens as teeth, and fur the color of corrective tape, baying “run-on! comma splice!” They can’t catch you if you’re still writing.

Winner-2014-Web-Banner

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

