This 8 sentence blog hop is hosted by The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link for the list of participants, or rules if you want to join!)

“Jabberwock Keys” is a complete just-for-fun short story that could use some polishing. A sorcerer hires  jabberwock named Daisy to guard his treasure, given a silver flute to summon her, and with Daisy following, returns to his tower on a spire of rocks, going through a tunnel to the top of the cliffs, and they negotiate her pay.

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge

“Let me show you what you’ll be guarding,” Magnus said, leading her up to the tower, using an elevation disk to lift them to the window at the top of the tower, and gesturing to the room full of his treasures.

Rare spell books, and ones full of esoteric knowledge about poisons, medicines, magical beasts, and other secrets, lined the shelves on the wall, side by side with magical artifacts, rare and ancient objects and jewelry, and on the floor, a large wooden trunk banded in metal, the wood thick and scarred from years of mistreatment.

“My most precious treasures are in that trunk,” Magnus said, pulling a chain from his neck, “It takes three keys to open it.”

Daisy bobbed her head in understanding.

“I’m entrusting these to you,” he held out two ornate metal keys, one gleaming darkly, the other a bright silvery metal.

Delicately, the Jabberwock caught the chain on one claw, and pulled it to her body, her long neck dipping down and blocking his view. When she set her foot back on the ground, the keys and chain weren’t dangling from it.

Magnus wondered where she had put the keys, but decided it probably didn’t matter, since if he couldn’t see it, neither would people trying to steal his possessions.

*    *    *

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

25 responses »

  1. Another delicious enchanting snippet from a fine writer. You paint the scene so well leaving nothing out. I felt transported to the tower gazing around. And you always have more than a touch of humor in your stories.

  2. Frank Fisher says:

    The keys disappearing got me hooked. You know this genre very well, and it especially shows in your characters.

  3. Alexis Duran says:

    Seems like a great idea- who’d mess with a jabberwock? But then, do we know how trustworthy these creatures really are? I’m really enjoying this story.

  4. Sarah W says:

    I read you reply to Alexis, but I still suspect Daisy of having a long-range plan…

  5. I love that the keys disappear. It seems Jabberwocks have a lot of abilities beyond the obvious teeth and claws. This is a great story, excellent snippet!

  6. Carrie-Anne says:

    I’d be so curious about what’s in that trunk. I love how you make your fantasy scenes come to such vivid life.

  7. burnsmillie says:

    Hmm, does Daisy have some sort of Kangaroo pouch? A spot behind a scale? A hollow in her cheek? Where she hide those keys??? Always fun to read your snippets.

  8. I love the world you’re creating. Daisy is a lot of hidden talents;). Wonderful snippet.

  9. chellecordero says:

    I am totally mesmerized by Daisy. I think she’ll do her job well but I do worry about the consequences. Great snippet

  10. Daisy seems very professional, for a Jabberwock. I love how vividly you’ve painted this scene. I need to take notes.

  11. She melted me when she bobbed her head <3….I always enjoy the Jabberwock snippets!

  12. The spell books got me. Love it!

What are your thoughts?

