This 8 sentence blog hop is hosted by The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link for the list of participants, or rules if you want to join!)

“Jabberwock Keys” is a complete just-for-fun short story that could use some polishing. A sorcerer hires a jabberwock named Daisy to guard his treasure, and they return to his tower on a spire of rocks, with tunnels going through the cliffs to the top, and he gives her two of the three keys required to unlock a chest with his most important treasures.

I skipped over Daisy hauling a screaming man out of the woods, and bringing him to Magnus.

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge

“Were there others?” Magnus contemplated the man sitting unhappily on the ground, with one of Daisy’s long, scaly front feet banding his rib cage.

Daisy nodded, snapped her jaws twice, and then shook her head.

“It ate Kiff and Pol,” the man complained, “so much blood and screamin’… and the teeth…”

“You were trying to steal from me,” Magnus said, crossing his arms, “what did you think would happen?”

“It didn’t have ta eat us!” He began railing against the evilness of rich wizards who wouldn’t miss some of their dusty hoard anyway, and Daisy gave him another firm shake to cut off the stream of invective.

“You tell me who you were stealing for, and what you were after,” Magnus said, “And, since you were so eager to see inside my tower, I will indulge you.”

*    *    *

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

25 responses »

  1. Delightful, Delirious, and D’lovely as the song goes. I want a Jabberwock all my own, please, Santa Caitlin.

  2. Aw, Daisy continues to endear, even at her bloodthirstiest. I do feel a teensy bit sorry for the poor thieves who were expecting your average, easy wizard-heist. But only because it’s the holidays. 🙂

  3. Frank Fisher says:

    Great work! Magnus is so vivid and stands out from the other characters. Lovely snippet!

  4. I love Daisy, even if she eats people;). You do an amazing job of bringing the world to life with only a few words. Everything jumps off the page. I really, really want to read the whole story and find someone who can make me a plush Daisy;). Wonderful snippet.
    Merry Christmas!

    • caitlinstern says:

      I’m working on it, promise. Depending on how the holidays go, I should have a cleaner version by the end of the year… or soon after.

      Daisy would be adorable in cuddly minature… 🙂

  5. Alexis Duran says:

    Daisy plushies? I’d go for that! I do think the punishment seems a tad harsh, but what can you expect when messing with a wizard? Great snippet.

    • caitlinstern says:

      That’d take someone with way more sewing skills than me!

      Well, if you’re ever trying to break into a sorcerer’s tower, and a jabberwock comes charging out of the woods at you… run, don’t attack her. Then you’ll probably live. 😉

  6. No fooling around for the Jabberwock apparently, she’s even more efficient than I realized, eating people! Excellent excerpt, I want a mini Jabberwock for myself!

  7. Carrie-Anne says:

    Daisy is such an endearing character, even when she’s not behaving so politely. I also love Magnus.

  8. Gemma Parkes says:

    Great scene, vivid characters and an amazing idea!

  9. Kate Warren says:

    Ooh! I have a feeling he’s not going to like the inside of the tower. This is great, Caitlin!

  10. Sarah W says:

    Do not attempt to steal from wizards who employ Jabberwocks, for you are a slow-running, crunchy snack. 😀

    I don’t think going into the Tower is a very good idea . . .

  11. Hey there! It’s been a long time, but I’m glad to be back for a bit. Great snippet! Love the dialogue and characterization here 🙂 Great 8!

  12. ED Martin says:

    The thief saw a jabberwock eat his pals, and he’s still complaining? He’s lucky to be alive – although I doubt he’ll be thinking that after he sees what’s inside the tower. Great snippet!

    • caitlinstern says:

      He would prefer that no one got eaten, yes–and that they made a big payday off what they stole.

      No, the inside of the tower will not be fun. But that’s what you get for messing with sorcerers!

What are your thoughts?

