Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesbookcase

December 23: Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing This Year.

1. An Artificial Night; Seanan McGuire. This is the last gap I have in a series, so once I have it, I can read straight through if the inclination strikes me.

2. Chasing the Star Garden; Melanie Karsak. Steampunk and airship races, make this a book I’d like to get my hands on.

3. Dirty Magic; Jaye Wells. I feel like this book is taunting me at bookstores, and if I had it, it might stop showing up everywhere. It’s on my library list to check out in that mythical someday when I have time…

4. Fluff Dragon; Platte F. Clark. The first book, Bad Unicorn, was hilarious, but this one isn’t obligingly appearing at my library.

5. Hell Bent; Devon Monk. The first in a series of an author I like, but who is never at the library–and a spin-off with characters I want to know more about.

6. Hound of the Baskervilles; Arthur Conan Doyle. I’m collecting Penguin Hardcovers, and I like Sherlock Holmes, bad traits and all. He’s so sure of the world.

7. Johannes Cabal, The Necromancer; Johnathan L. Howard. I’ve read all the books after this one, but not the first. I want to fix that soon.

8. Railsea; China Mieville. I’m weird enough to like Moby Dick, and this is a spectacular version of it, with trains on a sea of rails, and a captain hunting an ivory colored mole that stole her arm.

9. Robots versus Slime Monsters; A. Lee Martinez. A collection of short stories, from an author that always makes me laugh. And how can you resist that title?

10. Saga (Vol. 1-4); Brian K. Vaughan. Technically several collections–and even more comics, but I would love to be able to read (or re-read) these all at once.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

6 responses »

  1. Saga!! I have the Deluxe Edition on my TTT this week. It’s 504 pages of awesome. It gathers issues 1-18 together with a bunch of extra content. Need.
    My TTT!

  2. lynnsbooks says:

    I was keen to see what you’d have on your list. I love that you have the House of the Baskervilles on here – such a good book!
    Lynn 😀

  3. samoak says:

    I really need to pick-up Saga at some point. I’ve been hearing some really great things about it. Awesome choices!

What are your thoughts?

