Hope you all had a happy New Year, however you celebrate–or even if you don’t.

Did you go out to celebrate, or stay in the warm? Image from Wikimedia by Ikluft.

Did you go out to celebrate, or stay in the warm?
Image from Wikimedia by Ikluft.

For the first time that I can remember, I made resolutions–ten for a Top Ten, some of which are more important than others. And now that 2014 is over, I’m looking back on how I did.

Book related goals:

  • Moderate library check-outs

This one is sometimes difficult to do–so many tempting new books!–but for the most part I succeeded. Recent changes to the demands on my time mean this one is even more important in the coming year.

  • Read TBR pile

I finished the 11 books from years previous months ago, but the pile has only grown. I acquired a bunch of new books, and read 22 of those–my year end total is 15 books piled up. So long as none of these wait for years, I feel I’ve won. Kind of.

  • Work on Kindle backlog

I keep getting more of these, of course, but I decided to read at least one a week. I missed 3 weeks, but many weeks I got more than one book read.  At the beginning of the year, I had 65 unread ebooks, and now I have 19. My goal for the future is to be more discriminating in my acquisitions, to keep that number under control.

  • Winnow bookshelves

I got rid of far more books than I expected to, and my shelves look a lot less crowded–though my birthday and Christmas books have filled in many of those gaps. Ah, well. This happens to all book collectors, I suppose. The important thing is I learned to let go of some of them.

Write every day

I did pretty well on this most months, with a few gaps here and there. Some of the days I only wrote for a few minutes, so next year I’m going to concentrate on more quality writing time, perhaps three days a week where I write for at least a half hour. I’ll see how well that works, and tweak accordingly.

Use notebooks

I wrote in two journals–a little one to carry along with me, and the notebook I keep for late-night ideas. But the ease of electronic note-taking on my phone or computer mostly wins out, despite my love of notebooks.

Submit manuscripts

This one I completely lost out on. Better effort next year, for sure.

Spend more time with family

I did decently on this one. Everyone’s so busy, so it can be hard to connect schedules, but it’s not impossible. I saw family a total of 10 times throughout the year–and connected with friends several times, too. Not bad at all.

Exercise

Using a handy little app on my phone, I set a walking goal of 8,000 steps. For awhile, I made my goal most days, with plenty of days I even exceeded the recommended 10,000 steps. And then the end of the year got me–between the holidays and the cold weather, I dropped back down. But this is a forever kind of goal, which means some bad days are just that, not the end of the effort.

Walk shelter dogs again

This is another one the weather and early mornings won more that I wished–a paltry total of 3 days where I walked some dogs. But I can definitely work on this one, too–and it’s exercise for me, as well!

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

4 responses »

  1. moosha23 says:

    Love all of the goals (can relate with the exercising, spending time with the family AND the TBR pile knockout). Hope you achieve them all in 2015!

    • caitlinstern says:

      I definitely learned from my resolutions last year–some things you have to plan for, or they just don’t happen.

      On the other hand, keeping track of them like I did is a bit exhausting–not doing that again this year!

  2. Amy Sachs says:

    I have the same notebook problem! There are so many cute ones I just keep BUYING them but I can’t fill them as fast as I collect them. Same goes for Kindle books: the deals seem too good to pass up so I get them faster than I read them. Good luck with all your goals this year!

    • caitlinstern says:

      They’re so pretty though… At least they don’t have expiration dates, though they certainly take up space.

      Good luck with your new year, too, goal-oriented or otherwise.

What are your thoughts?

