For whatever holiday you celebrate, I hope you had a good one! May you have been (and be in the future) surrounded by the family you were born with, or the family you choose–with plenty of love.

(And some books. Everybody needs more books.)

20140604_022403

I’ll save your place for you!

Post-Holiday Leftovers

After the wrapping paper is tossed

the tree dried and died

champagne toasted with

and lights ignored until later

What have you gotten

that you treasure most?

A thing

or a memory?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

2 responses »

  1. moosha23 says:

    Brilliant poem! A thing, or a memory? 😀 That’s one awesome line!

What are your thoughts?

