There really aren’t words for how much I hate being cold. The winter doesn’t have too much to recommend itself to me, outside of holiday socks, and steaming mugs of tea or cocoa. It looks pretty enough, with areas blanketed in snow, or the bare beauty of tree limbs, but I’ve never enjoyed being out in that kind of weather.

One is lovely, a pile is just freezing. Image from WikiMedia by Saperaud.

One is lovely, a pile is just freezing.
Image from WikiMedia by Saperaud.

And I believe it dislikes me, too.

I was reminded recently of how the cold, dry air hates me–I cut my knuckle on the plastic lid on a cup of soup.

This isn’t, by far, the strangest thing I’ve cut myself on–that list includes a microwave door, a faucet, a toasted bagel, and assorted plastic caps and lids.

Picture me, staring in wounded silence at my lunch, before wrapping a napkin around my knuckle, and getting on with my lunch. (I added a bandage later, and can’t bend that finger all the way anymore.) So remember, everyone, keep your skin hydrated, or any roughly 90 degree edge can break it.

There’s all kinds of dangers lurking in the winter chill, from tender noses, to viruses, to mounds of snow blocking people in, and slippery, icy roads. Take care of yourself out there!

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

2 responses »

  1. moosha23 says:

    Ouch! That seems painful…and what a ludicrous way to get a cut! (A microwave door? That’s actually pretty brilliant). 😀 Hopefully your cut will get better (and you’ll be able to move your finger like before). Ah, how much I long for summer days!

    • caitlinstern says:

      It was just a tiny nick, healed up enough to take the bandage off in a day or so.

      (I was hand washing dishes, and then pinched my pruney finger in the microwave door. It was pretty impressive, I suppose.)

      Yes, I’d rather bake than freeze, personally.

What are your thoughts?

