Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesday3

January 13: Top Ten 2014 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To.

all the light

1. All the Light We Cannot See; Anthony Doerr. A story about people, and connections–and the reviews say things like haunting, lyrical, and beautiful.

book strange new things

2. The Book of Strange New Things; Michel Faber. I read a snippet about this story, and it had lovely writing.

book of unknown americans

3. The Book of Unknown Americans; Cristina Henriquez. A story about immigrants, and the American Dream. Sounds sad, but thoughtful.

cant we talk

4. Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant; Roz Chast. A graphic novel memoir about a crazy family, all things I like.

endsinger

5. Endsinger; Jay Kristoff. Book three in an amazing Japanese steampunk series, with storm tigers and plenty of action.

girls kingfisher

6. The Girls at the Kingfisher Club; Genevieve Valentine. A recasting of the Twelve Dancing Princesses, in the era of flappers. Sounds like fun.

invisible ellen2

7. Invisible Ellen; Shari Shattuck. A woman who’s ignored by everyone finally does something exciting enough to be noticed.

I want it that way

8. I Want it That Way; Ann Aguirre. A romance by an author I adore enough that I’ll try anything by her.

leaving time

9. Leaving Time; Jodi Picoult. A woman searching for her missing mother–with elephants. It sounds a bit complicated, but interesting.

what if

10. What If?: Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions. Randall Munroe. Because sometimes you wonder the strangest things.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

21 responses »

  1. Sam says:

    Someone recommended The Girls at the Kingfisher Club to me because I love the 20s. I hope you enjoy it. 🙂

  2. The Book of Strange New Things!!! Yes. Read it. 🙂 I also want to read The Book of Unknown Americans. I’ve heard really good things.
    My TTT!

  3. moosha23 says:

    All the Light We Cannot See (saw that in the bookshop. Didn’t get it. Sigh. Biggest regret ever). Also…what if? sounds brilliant – I can imagine just poring over the pages wondering about the different barmy possibilities all justified with scientific explanations. Gosh, I’m in love with it already!

  4. lynnsbooks says:

    I was looking forward to seeing your list! The Kingfisher book is definitely one I fancy – and surprisingly don’t own! Maybe I’ll treat myself – but only if I read one of my unread from 2014 books.
    Lynn 😀

  5. samoak says:

    I hadn’t heard of The Girls at the Kingfisher Club, but I might have to check that one out. I adore books set in the 1920’s. They’re my weakness. 😛

  6. All the Light We Cannot See was one of my favorite books I read last year. If/when you read it, I hope you enjoy it!

  7. bornandread says:

    Good list – I hope you get to these this year! I am really keen to read the first three in your list as well.

  8. Ooh, Japanese Steampunk, that sounds great! Since it’s the third in a series, I assume you’ve read the first two? How were they?
    I keep hearing about All The Light We See, and saw it at Value Village, but ended up passing it by. Perhaps that was a mistake…

  9. The titles on this list alone are compelling. Going Goodreads hopping now. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

