Yesterday Word Press reminded me it was my three year blog anniversary. It’s been fun, and I hope to keep doing it for much longer. Thanks for reading! 🙂

*   *   *   *

If you’ve ever had a random person tell you to smile, you know the mix of embarrassment and fear it can evoke. Sometimes it’s easier to give in, but I really hope someday people will realize that everyone’s emotions–and expression of it–belong to them alone.

Cheshire_Cat_vanishing

Cheshire Smile

Smile they said

put on your most elaborate stripes

paint the curve of your lips

bright and bold

let the gleam of your teeth

hint at joy

Smile they said

decorate your face

for our viewing pleasure

it doesn’t matter how you feel

don’t get mad

it’s a compliment

My grin shone bright

as a second moon

wicked

sharp

a brilliant signal

I smiled as you asked

why do you look so scared

as the trees close in?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

4 responses »

  1. Very thoughtful poem. A smile is a physical display of emotion. The poem made me realize that when someone has to ask someone to smile, it is like asking someone to display emotion that they are not currently experiencing at the moment.

  2. moosha23 says:

    I guess that’s why they say “smiling is charity”, haha. CONGRATULATIONS ON THREE YEARS OF BLOGGING HERE!!! 😀

What are your thoughts?

