Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues purple flowers

February 3: Top Ten Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read From Memoir.

Memoir is a genre I should read more of, so I chose it instead of my staples of science fiction, fantasy, and mystery.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

1.) That Bear Ate my Pants; Tony James Slater. One seriously under-prepared man volunteering at an Ecuadorian animal refuge.

color of water

2.) The Color of Water; James McBride. The story of one woman’s two marriages, which crossed religious and racial boundaries.

diving bell and butterfly

3.) The Diving Bell and the Butterfly: A Memoir of Life in Death; Jean-Dominique Bauby, Jeremy Leggatt (translator.) This book was written by blinking one eye, the only control the author had after a stroke.

don't let's go

4.) Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight; Alexandra Fuller. A girl growing up in Africa, and the trials and joys of that childhood.

I grew my boobs

5.) I Grew my Boobs in Chinatown; Savannah Grace. First part of a four-year family backpacking trip.

I know why the caged bird sings

6.) I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings; Maya Angelou. There’s a possibility I read this sometime in school, but if I don’t really remember it, it doesn’t count.

infidel

7.) Infidel; Ayaan Hirsi Ali. Growing up in Somalia, Saudi Arabia, and Kenya.

a long way gone

 

8.) A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of A Boy Soldier; Ishmael Beah. The true story of a child soldier, this one will be really sad, I’m sure.

into thin air

9.) Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mount Everest Disaster; Jon Krakauer. I will never be this crazy/athletic, but it’s interesting to read about.

running with scissors

10.) Running with Scissors; Augusten Burroughs. I read Look Me in the Eye, and it made me curious about this book, too.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

10 responses »

  1. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings is really good. So you should definitely read that one (or reread it if you read it in school. Lol). 🙂
    My TTT!

  2. Lauren says:

    I read A Long Way Gone several years ago and loved it. It was a very emotional read, and I highly recommend it. Into Thin Air (or really, any Jon Krakauer) is great, too.

  3. Precious @ Clockwork Desires says:

    A Long Way Gone was really good, yet really sad. I hope you get to it soon!

  4. moosha23 says:

    I’ve heard of three of these and I’ve got to say I’m not always partial to memoirs. I mean I do like them but I have to be in the mood for other people – and it also depends on what type of memoir it is too. There’s so many out there, but yeah those a la A Long Way Gone are the types that I like the most. Who knew the real world could be so interesting?

  5. These are some interesting books; the first one sounds hilarious and I can always use a good humor-filled read. Haven’t read a funny book in awhile but I’m almost always up for laughs. 🙂 Memoir is something I don’t really read, but I’ve read a few.

What are your thoughts?

